Qualifying round

Group 1

1Czech Republic Czech Republic1072129101923
2Belgium Belgium106041411318
3Montenegro Montenegro104421311216
4Malta Malta10325920-1111
5Latvia Latvia102351013-39
6Moldova Moldova10217818-107

Group 2

1Italy Italy107301731424
2Serbia Serbia107212781923
3Slovenia Slovenia105051811715
4Republic of Ireland Republic of Ireland104061417-312
5Lithuania Lithuania10316517-1210
6Andorra Andorra10109126-253

Group 3

1FYR Macedonia FYR Macedonia10631137621
2France France10622178920
3Iceland Iceland10532139418
4Ukraine Ukraine104241412214
5Scotland Scotland10226817-98
6Northern Ireland Northern Ireland10028618-122

Group 4

1Portugal Portugal108203452926
2Israel Israel106312141721
3Greece Greece104151314-113
4Albania Albania103341120-912
5Hungary Hungary103341916312
6Liechtenstein Liechtenstein100010140-390

Group 5

1Denmark Denmark109102432128
2Bulgaria Bulgaria10523117417
3Romania Romania105141514116
4Wales Wales104421412216
5Luxembourg Luxembourg10136518-136
6Armenia Armenia10019621-151

Group 6

1Sweden Sweden107302471724
2Spain Spain107213192223
3Croatia Croatia1062224111320
4Georgia Georgia104151717013
5Estonia Estonia10118326-234
6San Marino San Marino10019130-291

Group 7

1Germany Germany1010003582730
2Austria Austria1071222121022
3Finland Finland104241310314
4Azerbaijan Azerbaijan10235819-119
5Russia Russia102351519-49
6Faroe Islands Faroe Islands10019328-251

Group 8

1Slovakia Slovakia86112161519
2Netherlands Netherlands84221510514
3Turkey Turkey832378-111
4Belarus Belarus8224711-48
5Cyprus Cyprus8116419-154

Group 9

1England England86202031720
2Norway Norway85121210216
3Switzerland Switzerland8332118312
4Kazakhstan Kazakhstan8116314-114
5Bosnia and Herzegovina Bosnia and Herzegovina8035213-113


P: Played   
W: Won   
D: Drawn   
L: Lost   
F: For   
A: Against   
+/-: Goal difference   
Last updated: 02/12/2016 16:05 CET




Road to the final

The 2017 UEFA European Under-21 Championship features a qualifying group stage and a play-off round to determine which 11 teams join hosts Poland in the final tournament.

Qualifying group stage
Teams are split into nine groups – seven of six sides and two of five – and play each other on a home-and-away basis. The nine group winners qualify automatically. The four runners-up with the best record against the nations first, third, fourth and fifth in their sections advance to the play-offs.

The two play-off ties are contested according to the knockout system. The team that scores the greater aggregate of goals proceeds to the next round, with away goals, extra time and then penalties used to determine the winner in the event of a draw.

Final tournament
The final tournament involves the nine group winners, the two play-off victors and Poland, who qualify automatically as hosts. The 12 sides are divided into three groups of four. Teams play each other once in their section, with the three pool winners and the best runner-up qualifying for the semi-finals.

Further details, including the criteria for separating sides that finish level on points in a group, can be found in the official competition regulations.