Final tournament - Group stage

  • Group detail:

  • A
  • B
  • C

Group B

1Spain Spain31002003009189
2Portugal Portugal31011002017526
3Serbia Serbia301100101225-31
4FYR Macedonia FYR Macedonia3001011012411-71


P: Played   
W: Won   
D: Draw   
L: Lost   
F: For   
A: Against   
+/-: Goal difference   
Pts: Points   
Last updated: 26/06/2017 17:10 CET


17 June 2017
Referee: Benoît Bastien (FRA) Stadium: Bydgoszcz Stadium, Bydgoszcz (POL)
06/19/2017 09:12:56
Spain5-0FYR Macedonia
Referee: Harald Lechner (AUT) Stadium: Gdynia Stadium, Gdynia (POL)
06/19/2017 09:09:26
20 June 2017
Serbia2-2FYR Macedonia
Referee: Bobby Madden (SCO) Stadium: Bydgoszcz Stadium, Bydgoszcz (POL)
06/22/2017 10:14:11
Referee: Tobias Stieler (GER) Stadium: Gdynia Stadium, Gdynia (POL)
06/22/2017 10:11:03
23 June 2017
FYR Macedonia2-4Portugal
Referee: Ivan Kružliak (SVK) Stadium: Gdynia Stadium, Gdynia (POL)
06/26/2017 16:14:02
Referee: Gediminas Mažeika (LTU) Stadium: Bydgoszcz Stadium, Bydgoszcz (POL)
06/26/2017 16:20:02
Last updated: 26/06/2017 17:10 CET




Group stage

Knockout phase


Road to the final

The 2017 UEFA European Under-21 Championship features a qualifying group stage and a play-off round to determine which 11 teams join hosts Poland in the final tournament.

Qualifying group stage
Teams are split into nine groups – seven of six sides and two of five – and play each other on a home-and-away basis. The nine group winners qualify automatically. The four runners-up with the best record against the nations first, third, fourth and fifth in their sections advance to the play-offs.

The two play-off ties are contested according to the knockout system. The team that scores the greater aggregate of goals proceeds to the next round, with away goals, extra time and then penalties used to determine the winner in the event of a draw.

Final tournament
The final tournament involves the nine group winners, the two play-off victors and Poland, who qualify automatically as hosts. The 12 sides are divided into three groups of four. Teams play each other once in their section, with the three pool winners and the best runner-up qualifying for the semi-finals.

Further details, including the criteria for separating sides that finish level on points in a group, can be found in the official competition regulations.