Four past champions in semi-finals

Four previous champions are through to the semi-finals as holders Olympique Lyonnais take on 1. FFC Turbine Potsdam and Arsenal LFC encounter 1. FFC Frankfurt.

Lyon and Potsdam have contested the last two finals
Lyon and Potsdam have contested the last two finals ©Sportsfile

Four past European title holders are through to next month's UEFA Women's Champions League semi-finals – with holders Olympique Lyonnais to face last season's runners-up 1. FFC Turbine Potsdam.

Lyon defeated Potsdam 2-0 last May in London to take their first European title, 12 months after Turbine had overcome the French side on penalties in the inaugural rebranded competition. However, they now meet over two legs after Lyon completed a comfortable 8-0 aggregate win against Brøndby IF on Wednesday and Potsdam cruised past FC Rossiyanka, 5-0 in total, today.

Frankfurt, the only side to win three European titles, overturned a first-leg deficit to knock out FC Malmö 3-1 overall and now play 2007 winners Arsenal LFC, who also saw off Swedish opposition in the shape of Göteborg FC. In the 2006 semi-finals, Frankfurt overcame Arsenal 4-2 on aggregate on their way to beating Potsdam in the decider. The last-four lineup has an abundance of experience at his level: Frankfurt are in their sixth semi-final and the other three sides are in their fifth.

Another all-German final as in 2006 would be apposite as the tournament concludes at Munich's Olympiastadion, as always two days before the men's showpiece in the same city.

Semi-finals (14/15 and 21/22 April)
1: Olympique Lyonnais (FRA, holders) v 1. FFC Turbine Potsdam (GER)
2: Arsenal LFC (ENG) v 1. FFC Frankfurt (GER)

Final (17 May, Olympiastadion, Munich)
Winner semi-final 1 v Winner semi-final 2