Olympique Lyonnais

Olympique Lyonnais president Jean-Michel Aulas invested heavily in their women's team and they rewarded him in 2011 with the club's first European trophy.

Lyon celebrate their 2011 win
Lyon celebrate their 2011 win ©Sportsfile

Formed: 1970 (as FC Lyon)
Nickname: Les Fenottes (the girls)

Best performance: winners 2011, 2012

Domestic honours
• League title: 9 (1991*, 1993*, 1995*, 1998*, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011)
• French Cup: 4 (2003*, 2004*, 2008, 2012)
*as FC Lyon

Round of 32: CFF Olimipia Cluj 9-0 (a), 3-0 (h), agg: 12-0
Round of 16: AC Sparta Praha 6-0 (a), 6-0 (h), agg: 12-0
Quarter-finals: Brøndby IF 4-0 (h), 4-0 (a), agg: 8-0
Semi-finals: 1. FFC Turbine Potsdam 5-1 (h), 0-0 (a), agg: 5-1

• FC Lyon were founded in 1970 and won four league titles and two French Cups before being taken over by the city's main club in 2004. Big games are played at Stade de Gerland.

• Olympique Lyonnais president Jean-Michel Aulas afforded the club enviable resources and in 2006/07 a team including French internationals Camille Abily, Sonia Bompastor and Sandrine Dusang, plus Brazilians Simone and Katia, won the title.

• That meant a European debut in the UEFA Women's Cup and Lyon equalled France's best performance by reaching the semi-finals, departing unbeaten on away goals against Umeå IK.

• They also completed the French double that season and in their second European campaign in 2008/09 again made the semi-finals, losing to FCR 2001 Duisburg, but retained the league championship.

• In 2009/10 they thrived in the new UEFA Women's Champions League and beat Umeå to reach the final only to lose to 1. FFC Turbine Potsdam on penalties after a goalless 120 minutes in Getafe. A year later, though, they won 2-0 against Potsdam in London to add the European title to their fifth straight French crown and 12 months on their retained the UEFA Women's Champions League, 1. FFC Frankfurt their 2-0 victims in Munich.

Key players
There is high quality throughout the squad including a large contingent from the French national side: goalkeeper Sarah Bouhaddi, defenders Laura Georges and Sonia Bompastor, midfielde Camille Abily, playmaker Louisa Nécib and forward Eugénie Le Sommer, though compatriot Élodie Thomis is suspended for the final. They are combined with foreign talents such as Swedish forward Lotta Schelin and Swiss attacker Lara Dickenmann.

Coach: Patrice Lair

Date of birth:
16 June 1961
Nationality: French
Playing career: Stade Briochin, US Avranches, Périgueux Foot, ES Arpajon-sur-Cère, US Saint-Malo, Trélissac FC, ESA Brive, Stade de Reims
Coaching career: Périgueux Foot B, US Saint-Malo B, USA Pouancé (player-coach), RC Doué-la-Fontaine (player-coach), Pouzauges AC (player-coach), Trélissac FC U15/U17, ESA Brive B, Stade de Reims B (assistant), Angoulême Charentes FC (assistant), CS Villeneuve-Saint-Germain, Montpellier Hérault SC (women), Espoirs de Savalou, Rwanda (technical director), Olympique Lyonnais (women)

Patrice Lair began his playing career as full-back at his local club in Saint-Brieuc before leaving for several lower-tier teams in France. He hung up his boots at Stade de Reims and decided to concentrate on coaching, a career he had touched upon while still playing. Lair managed several youth teams at national and international level before gaining success with the Montpellier women's team.

He was at the helm for two years, guiding the club to the 2005/06 UEFA Women's Cup semi-finals in his first season, at the time France's best run. He was appointed coach of Lyon in 2010, replacing Farid Benstiti, and again proved an immediate success, retaining the title and securing a first European crown in his debut season, repeating the trick a year later.