The official website for European football

VfL Wolfsburg

Published: Monday 1 April 2013, 13.28CET
VfL Wolfsburg are the fourth German side to reach the final in their debut season and hope to emulate 1. FFC Frankfurt, 1. FFC Turbine Potsdam and FCR 2001 Duisburg by winning.

rate galleryrate photo
  • loading...
Published: Monday 1 April 2013, 13.28CET

VfL Wolfsburg

VfL Wolfsburg are the fourth German side to reach the final in their debut season and hope to emulate 1. FFC Frankfurt, 1. FFC Turbine Potsdam and FCR 2001 Duisburg by winning.

Formed: 2003
Nickname: Die Wölfinnen (The She-Wolves)

Best performance: winners (2013)

Domestic honours
• League title: 1 (2013)
• German Cup: 1 (2013)

Round of 32: RTP Unia Racibórz 5-1 (a), 6-1 (h), agg: 11-2
Round of 16: Røa IL 4-1 (h), 1-1 (a), agg: 5-2
Quarter-finals: FC Rossiyanka 2-1 (h), 2-0 (a), agg: 4-1
Semi-finals: Arsenal LFC 2-0 (a), 2-1 (h), agg: 4-1

• VfL Wolfsburg set up a women's section in 2003 and within a decade the club were European finalists.

• There had been women's football in the city from 1973 in the shape of VfR Wolfsburg Eintracht, who reached the 1984 German Cup final and were founder members of the then regionally-split Frauen Bundesliga six years later with Doris Fitschen in their squad.

• After missing out on the new national division in 1997 the team faced bankruptcy and reformed as WSV Wolfsburg, who got to the top flight before closing in 2003 as VfL set up their side.

• The new club were relegated from the premier division in 2004/05 but were immediately promoted back thanks to 36 goals from Martina Müller, who has remained a stalwart in attack and midfield.

• Wolfsburg gradually improved before, in 2011/12, recruiting several top-class players and finishing second to earn a European debut. They stormed through to the UEFA Women's Champions League final at the first time of asking in 2012/13, winning their maiden maiden league title and German Cup before beating Olympique Lyonnais 1-0 at Stamford Bridge.

Key players
Wolfsburg may be European debutants but there is no shortage of experience in their squad. Notably, striker Conny Pohlers has already lifted the continental title with 1. FFC Turbine Potsdam and 1. FFC Frankfurt and this season became the first player to pass 40 UEFA women's club competition goals. She combines up front with Alexandra Popp while Martina Müller brings the nous of 100 German caps.

Captain Nadine Kessler is only 25 yet has plenty of know-how and, like Popp and Pohlers, has previously won this competition. Josephine Henning and Luisa Wensing are German international defenders. Wolfsburg will have to cope with the absence of Viola Odebrecht through suspension and the ill Verena Faisst.

Coach: Ralf Kellermann

Date of birth:
24 September 1968
Nationality: German
Playing career: MSV Duisburg, FSV Frankfurt, SC Verl, Sportfreunde Siegen, SC Paderborn 07, SV Lippstadt 08
Coaching career: SV Brunsrode/Flechtorf, VfL Wolfsburg (women)

Duisburg-born Kellermann joined local big club MSV and was an understudy most of the time there, making his 2. Bundesliga debut in 1990. He moved to FSV Frankfurt then where he won promotion into the 2. Bundesliga in 1994 but once more was the understudy. He then went back to his native state of Nordrhein-Westfalen, where he played for several third-tier sides before ending his active career in 2004.

He started coaching at Brunsrode/Flechtorf, a non-league club, before joining Wolfsburg, where he headed the scouting department. He succeeded Bernd Huneke as head coach of the women's team in the summer of 2008. During his time there, the team have become one of Germany's top sides.

Last updated: 04/12/13 5.33CET

Related information

Member associations
Team profiles

  • © 1998-2014 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA Women's Champions League logo and trophy are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.