The official website for European football

The trophy

The current trophy was introduced with the launch of the UEFA Women's Champions League in 2009/10.
The trophy
UEFA Women's Champions League trophy ©

Road to the final

The UEFA Women's Champions League comprises a qualifying group stage, four rounds of two-legged knockout ties and a one-off final.

Qualifying round
The lower-ranked champion clubs compete in four-team, one-venue mini-tournaments hosted by one of the competitors.

Knockout phase
The qualifying round winners and two best runners-up join the teams given a bye past that stage in the round of 32. From hereon the competition consists of two-legged knockout ties, continuing with the round of 16, which is drawn along with the last 32. The draw for the remainder of the competition is then made, with quarter-finals and semi-finals played over two legs. If scores are level after 90 or 120 minutes of the second leg, the team with the most away goals wins, otherwise a penalty shoot-out is held.

The 2014/15 edition concludes at the Friedrich-Ludwig-Jahn-Sportpark in Berlin, the city which also stages the men's final.

Further details, including the criteria for separating teams that finish level on points in a group, can be found in the official competition regulations.

The trophy

The current trophy was introduced with the launch of the UEFA Women's Champions League in 2009/10.

The launch of the UEFA Women's Champions League for the 2009/10 season also meant a fresh trophy to replace the previous UEFA Women's Cup.

The trophy is 60cm in height, 10kg in weight and made of sterling silver. The spiralling arms and the central body provide a vision of dynamism and strength. The column in the middle will be etched with the names of the winners, representing the climb to the top of European women's club football.

The original trophy, which is used for the official presentation ceremony at the final, remains in UEFA's keeping at all times. A full-size replica UEFA Women’s Champions League winners' trophy is awarded to the winning club as well as 35 gold medals, while 35 silver medals are presented to the runners-up.

Any club which wins the competition three consecutive times or five times in total receives a special mark of recognition. Once a cycle of three successive wins or five in total has been completed, the club concerned starts a new cycle from zero.

  • © 1998-2015 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA Women's Champions League logo and trophy are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.