The official website for European football

R. Standard de Liège

R. Standard de Liège
Erik Gerets leads Standard out at Camp Nou for the 1982 European Cup Winners' Cup final against Barcelona ©Getty Images

R. Standard de Liège

Formed: 1898
Nickname: Les Rouches (The Reds)

UEFA club competition honours (runners-up in brackets)
• UEFA Cup Winners' Cup: (1982)

Domestic honours (most recent triumph in brackets)
• League title: 10 (2009)
• Belgian Cup: 6 (2011)
• League Cup: 1 (1975)

• The side was founded by students from St Servais College as Standard Football Club, a tribute to then successful French team Standard AC Paris. The moniker evolved to Standard FC Liégeois, then Standard Club Liégeois, adding 'Royal' to mark their 25 years anniversary. Finally, in 1972, they settled on Royal Standard de Liège.

• Standard won promotion to the top tier in 1909, dropping out in 1914, but then returned in 1921 and have remained there ever since. Longevity did not initially bring success, though, as the club had to wait until 1958 for their first championship.

• A second followed in 1961, and the following season Les Rouches reached the European Champion Clubs' Cup semi-finals, losing 6-0 on aggregate to Real Madrid CF. With midfielder Wilfried Van Moer instrumental, Standard dominated Belgian football in the late-1960s and early-1970s, winning three successive titles.

• The lean period that followed ended when Standard won back-to-back championships in 1982 and 1983 under coach Raymond Goethals. Yet they endured further heartache on the continental stage as FC Barcelona – playing on their home ground – defeated a team featuring Arie Haan, Erik Gerets and Michel Preud'homme 2-1 in the 1982 European Cup Winners' Cup final.

• Preud'homme led the club to their ninth championship in 2008 – a quarter of a century after their eighth – with successor Laszlo Bölöni bringing up double figures the following season after a nail-biting play-off victory over RSC Anderlecht. It earned Les Rouches a place in the UEFA Champions League group stage for the first time.

* Last updated on 3 August 2010

Last updated: 23/01/14 14.28CET

Club record in UEFA competitions

  • © 1998-2014 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA Women's Champions League logo and trophy are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.