Format & regulations

The tournament became the UEFA Women's Champions League in 2009/10.

Louisa Nécib (Olympique Lyonnais) & Bianca Schmidt (1. FFC Turbine Potsdam)
©Getty Images

Europe's top clubs have been showcasing their talents in this annual competition since its inception as the UEFA Women's Cup in 2001/02, adopting its current moniker for 2009/10. It consists of a qualifying round followed by a knockout tournament, culminating in a one-off final held in an appointed venue.

The competition kicks off at the end of the summer with the qualifying round, where four-team groups play round-robin fixtures in one venue. The section winners and, depending on the number of entries, the best runners-up earn a place in the knockout stages, which start in the round of 32, with all ties played over two legs until the final on the Thursday before the men's UEFA Champions League showpiece.

The regulations for the UEFA Women's Champions League were approved by the UEFA Executive Committee.