The official website for European football

Match officials

Published: Monday 1 October 2012, 13.53CET
Nine referees, 12 assistant referees and three fourth officials have been appointed for UEFA Women's EURO 2013.
Match officials
Bibiana Steinhaus leads the teams out for the play-off second leg between Spain and Scotland ©Getty Images

Road to the final

UEFA Women's EURO 2013 comprises of a preliminary round, qualifying group stage, play-offs and 12-team final tournament played in Sweden.

Preliminary round
Two groups of four teams are played as one-venue mini-tournaments between 3 and 8 March 2011. The group winners progress to the qualifying round.

Qualifying group stage
The two preliminary round winners join the 36 highest-ranked qualifying contenders in four groups of five teams and three of six played on a home-and-away basis between 17 September 2011 and 19 September 2012. The group winners and best runners-up (counting results against the teams first, third, fourth and fifth in their section) progress to the final tournament, and the other six runners-up go to the play-offs.

The six teams will be drawn into three pairs for the two-legged play-offs on 20/21 and 24/25 October 2012. The three nations with the highest coefficients are seeded and at home in the second leg. The three winners qualify for the finals.

Final tournament
Hosts Sweden will join the 11 qualifiers in the final tournament in July 2013. There will be three groups of four teams, with the top two from each section and the two best third-placed sides going into the quarter-finals, from when the competition is a straight knockout.

Further details, including the criteria for separating teams that finish level on points in a group, can be found in the official competition regulations.

Published: Monday 1 October 2012, 13.53CET

Match officials

Nine referees, 12 assistant referees and three fourth officials have been appointed for UEFA Women's EURO 2013.

Kirsi Heikkinen (FIN) 26/09/1978
Bibiana Steinhaus (GER) 24/03/1979
Katalin Kulcsár (HUN) 07/12/1984
Silvia Spinelli (ITA) 29/10/1970
Teodora Albon (ROU) 02/12/1977
Cristina Dorcioman (ROU) 07/08/1974
Jenny Palmqvist (SWE) 02/11/1969
Esther Staubli (SUI) 03/10/1979
Kateryna Monzul (UKR) 05/07/1981

Assistant Referees
Lucie Ratajova (CZE) 02/12/1979
Sian Massey (ENG) 05/10/1985
Tonja Paavola (FIN) 25/03/1977
Marina Wozniak (GER) 07/09/1979
Judit Kulcsár (HUN) 27/04/1980
Romina Santuari (ITA) 14/03/1974
Hege Steinlund (NOR) 23/12/1969
Petruta Iugulescu (ROU) 20/09/1979
Maria Súkeníková (SVK) 16/11/1975
Maria Luisa Villa Gutiérrez (ESP) 14/05/1973
Helen Karo (SWE) 01/11/1974
Natalia Rachynska (UKR) 14/08/1970

Fourth Officials
Carina Vitulano (ITA) 22/07/1975
Esther Azzopardi Farrugia (MLT) 12/12/1981
Monika Mularczyk (POL) 28/06/1980

Last updated: 21/06/13 12.53CET