Die offizielle Website des europäischen Fußballs

Island nach erstem EM-Sieg weiter

Veröffentlicht: Mittwoch, 17. Juli 2013, 20.03MEZ
Niederlande - Island 0:1
Dank des Tores von Dagný Brynjarsdóttir siegte Island erstmals bei einer Europameisterschaft und sicherte somit den Einzug ins Viertelfinale.
von Ian Holyman
aus Växjö Arena

rate galleryrate photo
1/0
counter
  • loading...

Spielstatistiken

NiederlandeIsland

Tore0
1
Versuche gesamt22
 
7
Schüsse aufs Tor5
 
1
Versuche am Tor vorbei10
 
4
Abgeblockte Schüsse0
 
0
Aluminiumtreffer1
 
1
Ecken5
 
5
Abseits3
 
3
Gelbe Karten2
 
1
Rote Karten0
 
0
Begangene Fouls9
 
11
Erlittene Fouls10
 
8

Tabellen

Veröffentlicht: Mittwoch, 17. Juli 2013, 20.03MEZ

Island nach erstem EM-Sieg weiter

Niederlande - Island 0:1
Dank des Tores von Dagný Brynjarsdóttir siegte Island erstmals bei einer Europameisterschaft und sicherte somit den Einzug ins Viertelfinale.

Island-Trainer Sigurdur Eyjólfsson hat mit seiner Mannschaft Geschichte geschrieben, denn zunächst holte er gegen Norwegen den ersten Punkt bei einer Frauen-Europameisterschaft, und nun folgte gegen die Niederlande sogar der erste Sieg. Damit zieht Island als einer der zwei besten Gruppendritten ins Viertelfinale der UEFA Women's EURO 2013 ein.

Dagný Brynjarsdóttirs Kopfballtor nach einer halben Stunde in der Växjö Arena reichte, um diesen historischen Sieg unter Dach und Fach zu bringen. Gegen wen es geht, wird erst morgen ermittelt, wenn der letzte Spieltag der Gruppe C auf dem Programm steht. Der Gegner jedenfalls könnte schwerer kaum sein: Schweden oder Frankreich. Für die Niederlande indes, vor vier Jahren noch überraschend im Halbfinale, endet dieses Turnier mit dem letzten Platz in der Gruppe B, wobei ihnen kein einziger Treffer gelang, und damit mit dem vorzeitigen Aus.

Beide Mannschaften wussten, dass ein Sieg das Viertelfinale bedeuten würde, egal wie das andere Spiele in dieser Gruppe ausgehen würde, und entsprechend entschlossen ging es zur Sache. Ein Kopfball von Katrin Jónsdóttir wurde schon bald auf der Linie von Dyanne Bito geklärt, ehe Hólmfridur Magnúsdóttir nach einem schönen Pass von Rakel Hönnudóttir nur den Pfosten traf.

Die Mannschaft von Roger Reijners traf ebenfalls das Gebälk, als es Lieke Marten mit einem Fernschuss versuchte und Gudbjörg Gunnarsdóttir den Ball noch an die Latte lenkte. Und dann fiel der einzige Treffer: Brynjarsdóttir setzte sich gegen zwei Verteidigerinnen durch und ließ mit ihrem schönen Kopfball Loes Geurts keine Chance.

Und wenn Margrét Lára Vidarsdóttir kurz darauf eine weitere Kopfballchance nicht vergeben hätte, dann hätte Island etwas ruhiger in die Pause gehen können. Stattdessen mussten die isländischen Fans noch mächtig schwitzen, zumal die stets gefährliche Lieke Martens nun eine zentrale Rolle einnahm, in der Hoffnung, dass die Stürmerin des FCR 2001 Duisburg den Weg ins Tor finden würde. Doch sie vergab eine gute Möglichkeit, sodass am Ende Island feiern durfte.

Spielerin des Spiels: Gudbjörg Gunnarsdóttir (Island)

Letzte Aktualisierung: 04.12.13 4.15MEZ

http://de.uefa.com/womenseuro/season=2013/matches/round=2000175/match=2010727/postmatch/report/index.html#island+steht+nach+sieg+kopf

Växjö Arena - Vaxjo 17/07/2013 - 18:00CET (18:00 local time)

Final tournament - Group stage - Group B

Netherlands - Iceland
0-1
 

Netherlands - Iceland 0-1 - 17/07/2013 - Match page - UEFA Women's EURO 2013

The official website for European football

Iceland down Netherlands to make history

Published: Wednesday 17 July 2013, 19.53CET
Netherlands 0-1 Iceland
Dagný Brynjarsdóttir's first-half header took Iceland past their opponents and into the last eight with their first-ever finals victory.
by Ian Holyman
from Växjö Arena

rate galleryrate photo
1/0
counter
  • loading...
 

Match statistics

Netherlands
Iceland

0

Goals scored

1

22

Total attempts

7

5

Attempts on target

1

10

off target

4

1

against woodwork

1

5

Corners

5

3

Offsides

3

2

Yellow cards

1

0

Red Cards

0

9

Fouls committed

11

10

Fouls suffered

8

Press kits

Standings

Last updated: 18/07/2013 12:28 CET

Legend:

P: Played   
Pts: Points   
 
  
Published: Wednesday 17 July 2013, 19.53CET

Iceland down Netherlands to make history

Netherlands 0-1 Iceland
Dagný Brynjarsdóttir's first-half header took Iceland past their opponents and into the last eight with their first-ever finals victory.

Iceland coach Sigurdur Eyjólfsson had stated his squad were forged to make breakthroughs, and having claimed their maiden point at this level in the draw with Norway earlier in UEFA Women's EURO 2013, they defeated the Netherlands to venture into the quarter-finals.

Dagný Brynjarsdóttir's header on the half-hour mark at the Växjö Arena was enough to ensure progress as one of the two best third-placed teams in the competition. Though he will have to wait until the conclusion of Group C before knowing whether his team will play Sweden or France for a place in the last four, Eyjólfsson, who spent much of the game shielding his eyes from the glorious evening sunshine, can now look ahead to even brighter horizons. Condemned to bottom spot in Group B, the Netherlands, surprise semi-finalists four years ago, exit without a goal to their name.

Both teams knew victory would secure a quarter-final berth regardless of the day's other result in the section, and their determination to shape their own destiny was evident. Katrin Jónsdóttir had a header steered off the goal-line by Dyanne Bito before Hólmfridur Magnúsdóttir surged onto Rakel Hönnudóttir's judiciously-weighted pass. A post, this time, saved the Dutch.

Roger Reijners' side tested the woodwork too when Lieke Marten's long-range drive was tipped onto her bar by Gudbjörg Gunnarsdóttir, but the Netherlands' good fortune at the opposite end finally ran out as Brynjarsdóttir sneaked between two defenders before directing a header beyond Loes Geurts.

Had Margrét Lára Vidarsdóttir not headed wide just after, the outcome would have been in little doubt before the break. Instead, Iceland made their boisterous fans sweat, and not merely due to the pleasant evening sun as the Netherlands pushed the ever-threatening Lieke Martens into a central role in the hope the FCR 2001 Duisburg forward could find a way through.

She almost did, but Gunnarsdóttir scrambled to her right to push away a low drive before doing the same thing on the opposite hand to parry Sherida Spitse's shot and see her nation into the knockout stages.

Player of the match: Dagný Brynjarsdóttir (Iceland)

Last updated: 07/10/14 3.25CET

Related information

http://www.uefa.com/womenseuro/season=2013/matches/round=2000175/match=2010727/postmatch/report/index.html#iceland+advance+with+first

  • © 1998-2014 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA Women's EURO word, the UEFA Women’s EURO logo and trophy are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks.