UEFA Women's EURO 2017 finals: Netherlands

The Netherlands will host UEFA Women's EURO 2017 in July and August of that year, the first final tournament to involve an increased 16 teams.

FC Twente Stadion - Enschede
©Getty Images

The Netherlands will host UEFA Women's EURO 2017, the first time the final tournament will involve 16 teams.

The Royal Netherlands Football Association (KNVB) was announced as hosts by the UEFA Executive Committee, meeting in Nyon in December 2014. The KNVB previously staged the 2007 UEFA European Under-21 Championship and 2005 FIFA U-20 World Cup as well as co-hosting UEFA EURO 2000 with Belgium. The final tournament will be played from 16 July to 6 August.

  • The draw

Group A: Netherlands (hosts), Norway, Denmark, Belgium
Group B: Germany (holders), Sweden, Italy, Russia
Group C: France, Iceland, Austria, Switzerland
Group D: England, Scotland, Spain, Portugal


Breda: Rat Verlegh Stadion
Deventer: Stadion De Adelaarshorst
Doetinchem: Stadion De Vijverberg
Enschede: FC Twente Stadion
Rotterdam: Sparta Stadion
Tilburg: Willem II Stadion
Utrecht: Stadion Galgenwaard

The 16 finalist sides will be drawn into four groups of four, with the top two in each section progressing to the knockout phase. Each team will play their three group games in three different venues. Enschede hosts a semi-final and the final.

UEFA Women’s EURO 2017: Meet the teams
Meet the teams

Group stage (KO CET):

Sunday 16 July: Group A
Netherlands v Norway (Utrecht) 18:00
Denmark v Belgium (Doetinchem) 20:45

Monday 17 July: Group B
Italy v Russia (Rotterdam) 18:00
Germany v Sweden (Breda) 20:45

Tuesday 18 July: Group C
Austria v Switzerland (Deventer) 18:00
France v Iceland (Tilburg) 20:45

Wednesday 19 July: Group D
Spain v Portugal (Doetinchem) 18:00
England v Scotland (Utrecht) 20:45

Thursday 20 July: Group A
Norway v Belgium (Breda) 18:00
Netherlands v Denmark (Rotterdam) 20:45

Friday 21 July: Group B
Sweden v Russia (Deventer) 18:00
Germany v Italy (Tilburg) 20:45

Saturday 22 July: Group C
Iceland v Switzerland (Doetinchem) 18:00
France v Austria (Utrecht) 20:45

Sunday 23 July: Group D
Scotland v Portugal (Rotterdam) 18:00
England v Spain (Breda) 20:45

Monday 24 July: Group A
Belgium v Netherlands (Tilburg) 20:45
Norway v Denmark (Deventer) 20:45

Tuesday 25 July: Group B
Russia v Germany (Utrecht) 20:45
Sweden v Italy (Doetinchem) 20:45

Wednesday 26 July: Group C
Switzerland v France (Breda) 20:45
Iceland v Austria (Rotterdam) 20:45

Thursday 27 July: Group D
Portugal v England (Tilburg) 20:45
Scotland v Spain (Deventer) 20:45

Saturday 29 July
Winner A v Runner-up B (QF1, Doetinchem) tbc
Winner B v Runner-up A (QF2, Rotterdam) tbc

Sunday 30 July
Winner C v Runner-up D (QF3, Tilburg) tbc
Winner D v Runner-up C (QF4, Deventer) tbc

Thursday 3 August

QF1 v QF4 (Enschede) tbc
QF2 v QF3 (Breda) tbc

Sunday 6 August (Enschede) 17:00


Players reflect on UEFA Women’s EURO 2013
Players on Sweden 2013

Past finals
UEFA European Women's Championship
2013: Germany 1-0 Norway; Solna, Sweden
2009: Germany 6-2 England; Helsinki, Finland
2005: Germany 3-1 Norway; Blackburn, England
2001: Germany 1-0 Sweden (aet, golden goal); Ulm, Germany
1997: Germany 2-0 Italy; Oslo, Norway
1995: Germany 3-2 Sweden; Kaiserslautern, Germany
1993: Norway 1-0 Italy; Cesena, Italy
1991: Germany 3-1 Norway (aet); Aalborg, Denmark
UEFA European Competition for Representative Women's Teams
1989: West Germany 4-1 Norway; Osnabruck, West Germany
1987: Norway 2-1 Sweden; Oslo, Norway
1984: Sweden 1-1 England (4-3 pens); two legs, Gothenburg and Luton