Germany won the first two editions of this competition and reclaimed the trophy after a second straight semi-final exit in 2011.

Germany ©Getty Images

Germany have been the dominant team in the UEFA European Women's Under-17 Championship. They won in 2008 and 2009 but have ended third for the last two years. Overall they have played 34 games in this competition, winning 30 and losing just one over 80 minutes, for the fourth season running qualifying without conceding a goal.

They kept up their unique record of always making the finals by ousting holders Spain 3-0 in Madrid to continue a fine first campaign under new coach Anouschka Bernhard, who has taken over from the long-serving Ralf Peter. "Apart for one chance, we did not give the Spanish attack anything," Bernhard said. "We deserved to go through." Her side then claimed the title.

First qualifying round: bye

Second qualifying round: Czech Republic 2-0, Serbia 4-0, Spain 3-0 (Group 4 winners)

Key players
Laura Leluschko (defender, Bayer 04 Leverkusen), Sara Däbritz (midfielder, SC Freiburg)

Coach: Anouschka Bernhard

Date of Birth: 5 October 1970
Nationality: German
Playing career: VfL Sindelfingen, FSV Frankfurt
Coaching career: FSV Frankfurt, Germany women's university team, Germany Women's U16/U17

Capped 47 times as a defender, Bernhard won the 1995 and 1998 German titles with FSV Frankfurt, who she later coached before taking charge of the Women's U16 national team in March 2011, graduating with them to this level for 2011/12 and leading them to the European title.

Team records

Qualifying top scorer
Sara Däbritz: 4

UEFA European Women's U17 Championship best
Winners: 2008, 2009, 2012

Honours in other UEFA women's competitions:
UEFA European Women's Championship/tournament
Winners: 1989 (as West Germany), 1991, 1995, 1997, 2001, 2005, 2009

UEFA European Women's U19 Championship
Winners: 2002, 2006, 2007, 2011
Runners-up: 2004

UEFA European Women's U18 Championship
Winners: 2000, 2001
Runners-up: 1999

Other honours:
FIFA Women's World Cup
Winners: 2003, 2007
Runners-up: 1995

FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup
Winners: 2004, 2010