Burton, Chesterfield, Hinckley, Telford picked

Burton-upon-Trent, Chesterfield, Hinckley and Telford will stage the matches at the first eight-team final tournament in England from 26 November to 8 December.

The Hinckley Stadium will stage an opening-day double-header
The Hinckley Stadium will stage an opening-day double-header ©Getty Images

Burton-upon-Trent, Chesterfield, Hinckley and Telford will each stage four matches at the first eight-team UEFA European Women's Under-17 Championship final tournament in England later this year.

Having previously concluded as a four-sided knockout event held in UEFA's Swiss home town of Nyon, the competition has expanded for its seventh season to end with the same eight-nation finals in a pre-determined venue as the women's U19s and other youth championships. England will stage the first of these between 26 November and 8 December, a one-off move from the usual summer date as the 2014 FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup in Costa Rica, for which the top three in the European tournament will qualify, will be played from 15 March and 5 April.

The games will kick off at 12.30 local time (13.30CET) on Tuesday 26 November with double-headers at Telford and Hinckley. Telford will host an opening ceremony before England get the tournament under way at the AFC Telford Stadium. All four venues will hold fixtures on the next two matchdays of 29 November and 2 December, England playing respectively at Chesterfield and Burton.

These two venues will also stage the 5 December semi-finals. The third-place match at Burton and the final will be three days later at Chesterfield, marking the culmination of the 150-year anniversary celebrations for the Football Association (FA).

The draw for the group stage will be streamed live on UEFA.com from Burton Town Hall at 15.30CET on 24 October. England will await the six elite round group winners, which already include Austria, Scotland and Spain, and the runner-up with the best record against the sides first and third in their section. The elite round concludes on Sunday.

During the tournament the eight national squads will be based at the FA's new world-class training facility, St George's Park, near Burton-upon-Trent. The central location is ideal for the teams, offering access to outstanding technical, medical and coaching facilities.

Tournament director Adrian Bevington said: "This tournament is a fitting finale to the FA150 celebrations. We have chosen these venues as they provide great facilities only an hour away from St George's Park where the teams will be based. All clubs put in successful bids to host matches. We have been really impressed with their plans to create a great tournament for supporters and the teams. A finals tournament is always a great spectacle and I'd encourage all fans to come and enjoy the games."

England coach Lois Fidler added: "Holding the finals in England provides our young stars with a real chance to shine and I'm confident the clubs and partners will attract lots of fans to see the games. This is a big stage for our players and they will embrace the opportunity."

Future Women's U17 final tournaments will be played in Iceland (summer 2015) and Belarus (2016).

Provisional schedule (kick-offs CET, UK time is one hour behind)
Eurosport will show the Chesterfield semi-final and the final live
Date Group Match Location Kick-off
Tue 26 Nov A ENG v A2 Telford 13.30
Tue 26 Nov A tbc Telford 20.00
Tue 26 Nov B tbc Hinckley 13.30
Tue 26 Nov B tbc Hinckley 20.00
Fri 29 Nov A tbc Hinckley 13.30
Fri 29 Nov A ENG v A3 Chesterfield 20.00
Fri 29 Nov B tbc Burton 13.30
Fri 29 Nov B tbc Telford 20.00
Mon 2 Dec A A4 v ENG Burton 13.30
Mon 2 Dec A tbc Telford 13.30
Mon 2 Dec B tbc Hinckley 13.30
Mon 2 Dec B tbc Chesterfield 13.30
Thu 5 Dec Semi-final tbc Chesterfield 18.00
Thu 5 Dec Semi-final tbc Burton 20.00
Sun 8 Dec Third-place tbc Burton 13.00
Sun 8 Dec Final tbc Chesterfield 18.00