The official website for European football

2012/13 first qualifying round

The draw split a record 44 entrants into 11 groups of four.

2012/13 first qualifying round

The draw split a record 44 entrants into 11 groups of four.

Group 1: Switzerland, Belgium, Bulgaria, Moldova*
(19-24 October)

Group 2: England, Italy, Northern Ireland*, Israel
(10-15 September)

Group 3: France, Hungary, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Lithuania*
(1-6 October)

Group 4: Czech Republic, Iceland, Estonia, Slovenia*
(6-11 September)

Group 5: Denmark, Scotland, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*, Serbia (29 September-4 October)

Group 6: Sweden, Austria*, Croatia, Azerbaijan
(29 October-3 November)

Group 7: Germany, Russia, Greece*, Romania
(29 October-3 November)

Group 8: Netherlands*, Ukraine, Montenegro, Kazakhstan
(20-25 October)

Group 9: Republic of Ireland, Finland, Belarus, Georgia*
(1-6 October)

Group 10: Norway, Wales, Latvia*, Turkey
(4-9 September)

Group 11: Spain, Poland, Faroe Islands, Slovakia*
(3-8 September)


08.30CET, 15 November, Nyon

The first qualifying round draw features all 44 entrants, split into 11 groups of four. There are three seeding pots according to the coefficient ranking list. The 11 nations with the highest coefficient are in Pot A, the next 11 in Pot B, with the remainder in Pot C. Each group will contain one team from each of Pots A and B, and two from Pot C, with hosts then appointed for mini-tournaments between 1 August and 31 October 2012.

The 11 group winners and five runners-up with the best record against the sides first and third in their section will go into the second qualifying round in spring 2013. Four teams will eventually qualify for the final tournament which, as in previous years, will be held in UEFA's hometown of Nyon, Switzerland from 25 to 28 June 2013.

Pot A: Germany, Spain, France, Netherlands, Norway, Republic of Ireland, Sweden, Czech Republic, Switzerland, Denmark, England

Pot B: Belgium, Italy, Iceland, Scotland, Poland, Finland, Wales, Russia, Hungary, Ukraine, Austria

Pot C: Serbia, Slovenia, Turkey, Romania, Belarus, Lithuania, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Croatia, Greece, Estonia, Kazakhstan, Faroe Islands, Latvia, Northern Ireland, Israel, Azerbaijan, Moldova, Bulgaria, Georgia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Slovakia

Road to the final

The UEFA European Women's Under-17 Championship consists of three distinct stages: two qualifying rounds and an eight-team final tournament.

Qualifying round
The competition begins with one-venue four-team mini-tournaments. The top two in each group plus a certain number of third-placed teams with the best record against the leading pair in their group, depending on the number of entries, join possible top seeds given byes in the elite round.

Elite round
The 28 teams are drawn into seven groups of four. The groups are played as one-venue mini-tournaments with the winners progressing to the finals to join the hosts.

Final tournament
The eight teams are split into two groups of four. The top two in each group go through to the knockout phase, beginning in the semi-finals.

Further details, including the criteria for separating teams that finish level on points in a group, or after 80 minutes in a knockout match, can be found in the official competition regulations.