The official website for European football

Final tournament

The eight qualifiers are split into two groups of four.

Final tournament

The eight qualifiers are split into two groups of four.

Group A: England (hosts), Italy, Austria, Portugal

Group B: Germany, Scotland, France, Spain

15.30CET, 24 October, Burton Town Hall
The eight qualifiers: hosts England, Spain, Austria, France, Scotland, Germany, Italy and Portugal will be split into two groups of four. England will be placed in position one of Group A but otherwise there are no draw restrictions. The draw will be made by former England players Faye White and Sue Smith

In the expanded final tournament, the number of teams competing has increased to eight for the first time, after four contested each of the first six editions. The contenders will be divided into two groups, playing in Telford, Hinckley, Chesterfield and Burton-upon-Trent on 26 and 29 November and 2 December. The top two sides will progress to the semi-finals in Burton and Chesterfield three days later, with the third-place match in Burton on 8 December followed by the decider in Chesterfield, to be shown live on Eurosport – as will be the last-four meeting at the same venue.

The top three teams will advance to the 2014 FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup in Costa Rica from 15 March and 5 April, where France will hope to defend their title. The spring date of that event explains why the European finals have been moved for this season from their usual summer slot.

Road to the final

The UEFA European Women's Under-17 Championship consists of three distinct stages: two qualifying rounds and an eight-team final tournament.

Qualifying round
The competition begins with one-venue four-team mini-tournaments. The top two in each group plus a certain number of third-placed teams with the best record against the leading pair in their group, depending on the number of entries, join possible top seeds given byes in the elite round.

Elite round
The 28 teams are drawn into seven groups of four. The groups are played as one-venue mini-tournaments with the winners progressing to the finals to join the hosts.

Final tournament
The eight teams are split into two groups of four. The top two in each group go through to the knockout phase, beginning in the semi-finals.

Further details, including the criteria for separating teams that finish level on points in a group, or after 80 minutes in a knockout match, can be found in the official competition regulations.