The official website for European football

2013/14 qualifying round

The 2013/14 edition will be the first to lead to an eight-team final tournament

2013/14 qualifying round

The 2013/14 edition will be the first to lead to an eight-team final tournament

Qualifying round draw
Group 1 (2-7 August):
 Czech Republic, Scotland*, Northern Ireland, Montenegro

Group 2 (28 July-3 August): Norway, Romania, Croatia, Estonia*

Group 3 (2-7 August): Netherlands, Finland, Ukraine*, Slovakia 

Group 4 (6-11 August): Republic of Ireland, Russia*, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Turkey

Group 5 (30 July-4 August): Iceland, Hungary, Latvia, Moldova*

Group 6 (2-7 August): Sweden, Serbia, Portugal, Israel*

Group 7 (6-11 August): Belgium, Slovenia*, Belarus, Lithuania 

Group 8 (2-7 August): Poland*, Austria, Kazakhstan, Azerbaijan 

Group 9 (2-7 July): Switzerland, Italy, Bulgaria*, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia

Group 10 (5-10 August): Denmark*, Wales, Faroe Islands, Greece


Bye to second qualifying round: Germany, Spain, France

Bye to final tournament: England (hosts)

Draw procedure
It is all change for the seventh edition of the competition, with the final tournament expanded from a four-team knockout to one involving two groups of four, with the top two advancing to the semi-final. Hosts England have a bye through qualifying, while top seeds Germany, Spain and France enter at the second stage.

The remaining 40 entrants, including Portugal for the first time, will be in the qualifying round draw, where they will be split into ten groups of four. There are three seeding pots according to the coefficient ranking list.

The ten nations with the highest coefficient are in Pot A, the next ten in Pot B, with the remainder in Pot C. Each group will contain one team from each of Pots A and B, and two from Pot C, with hosts then appointed to stage the mini-tournaments either between 1 and 7 July or from 29 July to 11 August 2013.

The ten group winners, ten runners-up and the third-place team with the best record against the sides first and third in their section will contest the elite round between 20 September and 20 October Seven teams will eventually qualify for the final tournament which will be held in England from 26 November to 8 December 2013, the first time the showpiece has been an eight-sided event in winter rather than a four-nation summer knockout in Nyon, as for every edition from 2007/08 to 2012/13. It will act as a qualifier for the 2014 FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup in Costa Rica the following March and April.

Seeding pots
Pot A: 
Denmark, Switzerland, Republic of Ireland, Iceland, Netherlands, Sweden, Norway, Czech Republic, Belgium, Poland

Pot B: Finland, Scotland, Italy, Austria, Hungary, Russia, Wales, Romania, Serbia, Slovenia

Pot C: Turkey, Belarus, Ukraine, Faroe Islands, Latvia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Israel, Kazakhstan, Moldova, Greece, Lithuania, Estonia, Northern Ireland, Bulgaria, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Azerbaijan, Montenegro, Portugal, Slovakia.

Bye to second qualifying round: Germany, Spain, France

Bye to final tournament: England (hosts)

Road to the final

The UEFA European Women's Under-17 Championship consists of three distinct stages: two qualifying rounds and an eight-team final tournament.

Qualifying round
The competition begins with one-venue four-team mini-tournaments. The top two in each group plus a certain number of third-placed teams with the best record against the leading pair in their group, depending on the number of entries, join possible top seeds given byes in the elite round.

Elite round
The 28 teams are drawn into seven groups of four. The groups are played as one-venue mini-tournaments with the winners progressing to the finals to join the hosts.

Final tournament
The eight teams are split into two groups of four. The top two in each group go through to the knockout phase, beginning in the semi-finals.

Further details, including the criteria for separating teams that finish level on points in a group, or after 80 minutes in a knockout match, can be found in the official competition regulations.