Chesterfield FC Stadium - Chesterfield 08/12/2013 - 18:00CET (17:00 local time)


Germany - Spain
Germany win 3-1 on penalties

Germany - Spain 1-1 - 08/12/2013 - Match page - Women's Under-17 2014

The official website for European football

Germany edge Spain from the spot to clinch title

Published: Sunday 8 December 2013, 19.10CET
Germany 1-1 Spain (Germany win 3-1 on penalties)
Vivien Brandt made a pair of saves in the shoot-out as Germany recovered from Patricia Guijarro's early opener to secure their fourth title.
by Simon Hart
from Chesterfield FC Stadium

rate galleryrate photo
  • loading...

Match statistics


Goals scored1
Total attempts4
on target2
off target1
against woodwork0
Yellow cards2
Red Cards0
Fouls committed10
Fouls suffered5


Published: Sunday 8 December 2013, 19.10CET

Germany edge Spain from the spot to clinch title

Germany 1-1 Spain (Germany win 3-1 on penalties)
Vivien Brandt made a pair of saves in the shoot-out as Germany recovered from Patricia Guijarro's early opener to secure their fourth title.

Germany won the UEFA European Women's Under-17 Championship 3-1 on penalties after a 1-1 draw with Germany in a tightly contested final in Chesterfield.

Patricia Guijarro shot Spain in front after nine minutes and they held their lead until four minutes from time, when Germany substitute Isabella Hartig struck from close range. It was the first goal Spain had conceded after 316 minutes of action in England and it took the contest into a shoot-out which Anoushka Bernhard's Germany ultimately edged.

Goalkeeper Vivien Brandt made two saves, Jasmin Sehan and Laura Widak converted their penalties and it was left to Hartig to hit the winning kick to secure a record fourth title for her country, and Bernhard's second as coach.

It was an outcome that did not look likely during a first half dominated by Spain. They had beaten Germany 4-0 in their final group game – only the second by any Spanish female team over German opposition – and a third appeared in the offing when Guijarro put her team in front.

The Spain No9 got her second goal of the tournament in impressive fashion in the ninth minute. Pouncing on a loose ball in a position just outside the Germany box, she fired in a right-foot shot that kicked up off the turf and flew past Brandt to her right.

With their tricky, pacy ball players, Spain continued taking the game to Germany, who had to withstand a series of corners and free-kicks. Just before half-time, Andrea Sánchez's delivery from the right almost led to another goal as Nahikari García flicked the ball across for Mireya García Boa, who volleyed wide. There were more scares for Germany in the second half as García just failed to profit from García Boa's ball across goal and then turned the ball wide on the follow-up after Brandt had spilled a long shot.

Yet Germany finally grew into the game. If Bernhard had been forced to replace Ricarda Walkling with Saskia Matheis owing to injury, it was her tactical switch of Hartig for Leonie Stenzel that paid off with the equaliser.

Until the 76th minute, the closest Gemany had come was a snapshot by striker Sehan blocked by a well-placed red shirt. Yet, with time running out, they got their goal. Nina Ehegötz sent over a low cross and although Sehan missed it at the near post, the ball ran on to Hartig who made no mistake with her close-range effort. Even then, Spain might have won it in normal time, Brandt keeping out a Sánchez free-kick with her fingertips, but it was not their night.

Last updated: 09/12/13 12.13CET

Related information






12Vivien Brandt (GK)1Elena De Toro (GK)
2Michaela Brandenburg2Nuria Garrote (C)
3Lisa Karl
Yellow Card22
3Beatriz Beltrán
5Kim Fellhauer4Silvia Mérida
7Nina Ehegötz6Pilar Garrote
8Saskia Meier7Nahikari García
9Laura Widak8Mireya García Boa
10Jasmin Sehan (C)9Patricia Guijarro
14Leonie Stenzel
10Andrea Sánchez
15Ricarda Walkling
14Aitana Bonmati
16Michaela Specht
Yellow Card47
16Queralt Gómez


21Lena Pauels (GK)23Cristina Portomeñe (GK)
4Jana Löber5Rocío Gálvez
6Saskia Matheis
11Carmen Menayo
11Burcu Özkanca12Laura Ortega
13Isabella Hartig
15Cintia Montagut
17Melanie Ott17Maite Oroz
18Samantha Dick18Laura Domínguez


Anouschka Bernhard (GER) Jorge Vilda (ESP)


Sara Persson (SWE)

Assistant referees

Mathilde Abildgaard (DEN), Katalin Török (HUN)

Fourth official

Ana Minić (SRB)


  • GoalsGoals
  • Own goalOwn goal
  • PenaltiesPenalties
  • Missed PenaltiesMissed Penalties
  • reds_cardRed Cards
  • yellow_cardsYellow cards
  • yellow_red_cardsYellow/red card
  • SubstitutionSubstitution

See also

  • © 1998-2014 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word and the UEFA European Women's Under-17 Championship trophy are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.