French to host 2008 finals

The UEFA Executive Committee awarded the 2008 UEFA European Women's Under-19 Championship final round to France, with Belarus staging the following year's edition.

France and Belarus will stage the UEFA European Women's Under-19 Championship final rounds in 2008 and 2009 respectively.

Proud record
Trophy winners in 2003 and runners-up this year, France have a proud record in the event and staged the tournament in 2001, the last season before it was reclassified from an U18 to an U19 competition. Belarus, meanwhile, will be the venue for a UEFA final round for the first time. The country has been performing well at continental youth level in recent seasons, qualifying for the men's UEFA European U21 Championship in 2004 and the U17 event this year.

Swiss and Iceland prepare
The French are currently involved in the qualifying process for the 2006 finals in Switzerland, but must top a tough group against hosts Norway, Poland and Serbia and Montenegro to compete for the trophy on 11-22 July. The 2007 edition will be staged in Iceland.