The official website for European football


The play-offs will consist of two rounds with one of the four contenders to earn Europe's last qualifying place.


The play-offs will consist of two rounds with one of the four contenders to earn Europe's last qualifying place.

Play-off draw

Semi-finals: 25/26 & 29/30 October
Scotland v Netherlands
Italy v Ukraine

Final: 22/23 & 26/27 November
Scotland/Netherlands v Italy/Ukraine

14.00CET, 23 September 2014, Nyon
The four runners-up from the qualifying group stage with the best record against the sides first, third, fourth and fifth will vie for one place to join the seven section winners in next summer's finals in Canada. The teams will compete in two rounds of home-and-away knockout ties.

The two seeded teams were those with the highest rating in the UEFA Women's National Team Coefficient Ranking following the last qualifying group stage fixtures.

Seeded: Italy, Netherlands

Unseeded: Scotland, Ukraine

Key facts
• Of the play-off contenders only Italy (1991, 1999) have previously qualified for a World Cup. They missed out in the 2011 play-offs.
• The Netherlands reached their first major tournament, UEFA Women's EURO 2009, via the play-offs and got to the semi-finals.
Scotland have never qualified for a major finals, losing in the last two UEFA Women's EURO play-offs.
Ukraine were knocked out 3-0 on aggregate by Italy in the 2011 play-offs.

Qualified teams
AFC: Australia, China, Japan (holders), South Korea, Thailand*
CAF: 3 tbc
CONCACAF: Canada (hosts), 3 or 4 tbc
CONMEBOL: 2 or 3 tbc
OFC: 1 tbc
UEFA: England, France, Germany, Norway, Spain*, , Sweden, Switzerland*, 1 tbc

*First qualification

Finals draw: 6 December, Ottowa
Finals: 6 June–5 July, Canada

Past World Cup finals (European teams in bold)
2011: Japan 2-2 United States (aet, 3-1 pens); Frankfurt, Germany
2007: Germany 2-0 Brazil; Shanghai, China
2003: Germany 1-0 Sweden (aet, golden goal); Carson, United States
1999: United States 0-0 China (aet, 5-4 pens); Pasadena, United States
1995: Norway 2-0 Germany; Stockholm, Sweden
1991: United States 2-1 Norway; Guangzhou, China

Past Olympic medallists (European teams in bold)
2012: United States (gold), Japan (silver), Canada (bronze); London, United Kingdom
2008: United States (gold), Brazil (silver), Germany (bronze); Beijing, China
2004: United States (gold), Brazil (silver), Germany (bronze); Athens, Greece
2000: Norway (gold), United States (silver), Germany (bronze); Sydney, Australia
1996: United States (gold), China (silver), Norway (bronze); Atlanta, United States

  • © 1998-2015 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA logo and all marks related to UEFA competitions, are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.