7 September 2012
Russia2-0Northern Ireland
Referee: Antonio Mateu Lahoz (ESP) – Stadium: Stadion Lokomotiv, Moscow (RUS)
04/18/2013 21:37:14
Kazakhstan1-2Republic of Ireland
Referee: Marius Avram (ROU) – Stadium: Astana Arena, Astana (KAZ)
10/27/2014 12:57:21
Referee: Matej Jug (SVN) – Stadium: Tofig Bahramov Republican stadium, Baku (AZE)
04/18/2013 20:04:42
Referee: Stanislav Todorov (BUL) – Stadium: Boris Paichadze Erovnuli Stadioni, Tbilisi (GEO)
11/10/2014 18:06:50
Liechtenstein1-8Bosnia and Herzegovina
Referee: Marco Borg (MLT) – Stadium: Rheinpark, Vaduz (LIE)
04/18/2013 22:13:21
Referee: Rene Eisner (AUT) – Stadium: Ta' Qali National Stadium, Ta' Qali (MLT)
04/18/2013 14:22:15
Referee: Milorad Mažić (SRB) – Stadium: Lilleküla Stadium, Tallinn (EST)
04/18/2013 17:10:01
Croatia1-0FYR Macedonia
Referee: Alon Yefet (ISR) – Stadium: Stadion Maksimir, Zagreb (CRO)
10/14/2014 11:37:14
Referee: Carlos Gómez (ESP) – Stadium: LFF, Vilnius (LTU)
04/18/2013 22:12:51
Referee: Ivan Bebek (CRO) – Stadium: Skonto Stadions, Riga (LVA)
04/18/2013 21:37:14
Referee: Kristinn Jakobsson (ISL) – Stadium: Gradski Stadion Podgorica, Podgorica (MNE)
11/10/2014 18:06:21
Referee: Emir Alecković (BIH) – Stadium: Estadi Comunal, Andorra la Vella (AND)
04/18/2013 16:24:40
Referee: Carlos Velasco Carballo (ESP) – Stadium: Amsterdam ArenA, Amsterdam (NED)
04/18/2013 18:13:20
Referee: Artyom Kuchin (KAZ) – Stadium: Stadiumi Kombëtar Qemal Stafa, Tirana (ALB)
04/18/2013 18:13:20
Referee: Craig Thomson (SCO) – Stadium: Olympic Stadium, Helsinki (FIN)
04/18/2013 09:06:26
Referee: Paolo Tagliavento (ITA) – Stadium: ŠRC Stožice, Ljubljana (SVN)
04/18/2013 20:04:13
Referee: Kristo Tohver (EST) – Stadium: Stade Josy Barthel, Luxembourg (LUX)
11/10/2014 18:03:14
Referee: not available – Stadium: Laugardalsvöllur, Reykjavik (ISL)
11/27/2014 14:13:10
Germany3-0Faroe Islands
Referee: Bobby Madden (SCO) – Stadium: Hannover Arena, Hanover (GER)
09/27/2013 15:13:50
Referee: Stefan Johannesson (SWE) – Stadium: Cardiff City Stadium, Cardiff (WAL)
04/18/2013 11:37:24
Referee: Martin Atkinson (ENG) – Stadium: Natsionalen Stadion Vasil Levski, Sofia (BUL)
04/18/2013 14:23:48
Referee: Pol van Boekel (NED) – Stadium: Stadionul Zimbru, Chisinau (MDA)
11/10/2014 18:05:19

Last updated: 27/11/2014 15:12 CET

Road to the final

European qualifying for the 2014 FIFA World Cup consisted of a group stage and a play-off round, providing 13 UEFA member nations for the 32-team final tournament in Brazil.

Qualifying group stage
Matches took place between 7 September 2012 and 15 October 2013 with eight groups of six teams and one of five. The nine group winners qualified directly for the finals and the eight runners-up with the best record against the teams finishing first, third, fourth and fifth in their section went into the play-offs.

The eight teams were drawn into four pairings for two-legged ties played from 15 to 19 November 2013. If scores were level after the second leg the team with the most away goals qualified, whether after 90 minutes or extra time. The four winners qualified for the finals.

Final tournament
The allocation for other confederations is: Asian Football Confederation (AFC) 4.5, Confederation of African Football (CAF) 5.0, Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) 3.5, South American Football Confederation (CONMEBOL) 4.5, Oceania Football Confederation (OFC) 0.5, and one slot for the hosts Brazil. The teams were drawn into eight groups of four with the top two going into the knockout phase.

Further details, including the criteria for separating teams that finish level on points in a group, or after extra time in a match, can be found in the
official competition regulations.

  • © 1998-2015 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA logo and all marks related to UEFA competitions, are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of UEFA.com signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.