All times CET

Round of 16 : 28 June 2014

28 June 2014
28 June 2014 - FIFA World Cup, Round of 16
Brazil win 3-2 on penalties
Referee: not available – Stadium: Estadio Mineirão, Belo Horizonte (BRA)
03/30/2015 13:30:59
28 June 2014 - FIFA World Cup, Round of 16
Referee: Björn Kuipers (NED) – Stadium: Maracana, Rio de Janeiro (BRA)
06/28/2014 22:53:57

Round of 16 : 29 June 2014

29 June 2014
29 June 2014 - FIFA World Cup, Round of 16
Referee: Pedro Proença (POR) – Stadium: Estadio Castelao, Fortaleza (BRA)
06/29/2014 18:58:59
29 June 2014 - FIFA World Cup, Round of 16
Costa Rica1-1Greece
Costa Rica win 5-3 on penalties
Referee: Williams Benjamin (AUS) – Stadium: Arena Pernambuco, Recife (BRA)
06/29/2014 23:57:34

Round of 16 : 30 June 2014

30 June 2014
30 June 2014 - FIFA World Cup, Round of 16
Referee: Mark Geiger (USA) – Stadium: Mane Garrincha, Brasilia (BRA)
06/30/2014 18:53:14
30 June 2014 - FIFA World Cup, Round of 16
Germany win after extra time
Referee: Sandro Ricci (BRA) – Stadium: Estadio Beira-Rio, Porto Alegre (BRA)
06/30/2014 23:32:59

Round of 16 : 1 July 2014

1 July 2014
Argentina win after extra time
Referee: Jonas Eriksson (SWE) – Stadium: Arena de Sao Paulo, Sao Paulo (BRA)
07/01/2014 20:43:19
Belgium win after extra time
Referee: Djamel Haimoudi (ALG) – Stadium: Mangabeira, Salvador De Bahia (BRA)
07/01/2014 23:32:54

Last updated: 30/03/2015 14:31 CET


Road to the final

European qualifying for the 2014 FIFA World Cup consisted of a group stage and a play-off round, providing 13 UEFA member nations for the 32-team final tournament in Brazil.

Qualifying group stage
Matches took place between 7 September 2012 and 15 October 2013 with eight groups of six teams and one of five. The nine group winners qualified directly for the finals and the eight runners-up with the best record against the teams finishing first, third, fourth and fifth in their section went into the play-offs.

The eight teams were drawn into four pairings for two-legged ties played from 15 to 19 November 2013. If scores were level after the second leg the team with the most away goals qualified, whether after 90 minutes or extra time. The four winners qualified for the finals.

Final tournament
The allocation for other confederations is: Asian Football Confederation (AFC) 4.5, Confederation of African Football (CAF) 5.0, Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) 3.5, South American Football Confederation (CONMEBOL) 4.5, Oceania Football Confederation (OFC) 0.5, and one slot for the hosts Brazil. The teams were drawn into eight groups of four with the top two going into the knockout phase.

Further details, including the criteria for separating teams that finish level on points in a group, or after extra time in a match, can be found in the
official competition regulations.

  • © 1998-2015 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA logo and all marks related to UEFA competitions, are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.