Final tournament - Group stage

Group A

0Brazil Brazil00000000
0Croatia Croatia00000000
0Mexico Mexico00000000
0Cameroon Cameroon00000000

Group B

0Chile Chile00000000
0Australia Australia00000000
0Netherlands Netherlands00000000
0Spain Spain00000000

Group C

0Colombia Colombia00000000
0Côte d'Ivoire Côte d'Ivoire00000000
0Greece Greece00000000
0Japan Japan00000000

Group D

0Uruguay Uruguay00000000
0England England00000000
0Costa Rica Costa Rica00000000
0Italy Italy00000000

Group E

0Honduras Honduras00000000
0Ecuador Ecuador00000000
0France France00000000
0Switzerland Switzerland00000000

Group F

0Argentina Argentina00000000
0Bosnia and Herzegovina Bosnia and Herzegovina00000000
0Iran Iran00000000
0Nigeria Nigeria00000000

Group G

0Germany Germany00000000
0Ghana Ghana00000000
0Portugal Portugal00000000
0USA USA00000000

Group H

0Belgium Belgium00000000
0Algeria Algeria00000000
0Korea Republic Korea Republic00000000
0Russia Russia00000000
Last updated: 11/03/2014 10:28 CET


P: Played   
W: Won   
D: Drawn   
L: Lost   
F: For   
A: Against   
+/-: Goal difference   
Pts: Points   

Road to the final

European qualifying for the 2014 FIFA World Cup consists of a group stage and a play-off round, providing 13 UEFA member nations for the 32-team final tournament in Brazil.

Qualifying group stage
Matches will take place between 7 September 2012 and 15 October 2013 with eight groups of six teams and one of five. The nine group winners qualify directly for the finals and the eight runners-up with the best record against the teams finishing first, third, fourth and fifth in their section going into the play-offs.

The eight teams will be drawn into four pairings for two-legged ties played from 15 to 19 November 2013. If scores are level after the second leg the team with the most away goals qualify, whether after 90 minutes or extra time. The four winners qualify for the finals.

Final tournament
The allocation for other confederations is: Asian Football Confederation (AFC) 4.5, Confederation of African Football (CAF) 5.0, Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) 3.5, South American Football Confederation (CONMEBOL) 4.5, Oceania Football Confederation (OFC) 0.5, and one slot for the hosts Brazil. The teams will be drawn into eight groups of four with the top two going into the knockout phase.

Further details, including the criteria for separating teams that finish level on points in a group, or after extra time in a match, can be found in the
official competition regulations.




Group stage

  • © 1998-2014 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA logo and all marks related to UEFA competitions, are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.