All times CET
7 September 2012
Russia2-0Northern Ireland
Referee: Antonio Mateu Lahoz (ESP) – Stadium: Stadion Lokomotiv, Moscow (RUS)
06/05/2015 13:43:34
Kazakhstan1-2Republic of Ireland
Referee: Marius Avram (ROU) Stadium: Astana Arena, Astana (KAZ)
07/14/2015 05:08:13
Referee: Matej Jug (SVN) – Stadium: Tofig Bahramov Republican stadium, Baku (AZE)
06/07/2015 15:24:09
Referee: Stanislav Todorov (BUL) – Stadium: Boris Paichadze Erovnuli Stadioni Dinamo Arena, Tbilisi (GEO)
06/10/2015 15:53:05
Liechtenstein1-8Bosnia and Herzegovina
Referee: Marco Borg (MLT) – Stadium: Rheinpark Stadion, Vaduz (LIE)
06/01/2015 13:39:35
Referee: Rene Eisner (AUT) – Stadium: National Stadium, Ta' Qali (MLT)
06/01/2015 13:32:16
Referee: Milorad Mažić (SRB) Stadium: A. Le Coq Arena, Tallinn (EST)
07/23/2015 06:33:50
Croatia1-0FYR Macedonia
Referee: Alon Yefet (ISR) – Stadium: Stadion Maksimir, Zagreb (CRO)
06/03/2015 09:15:42
Referee: Carlos Gómez (ESP) – Stadium: LFF stadionas, Vilnius (LTU)
06/01/2015 13:41:38
Referee: Ivan Bebek (CRO) Stadium: Skonto Stadions, Riga (LVA)
07/02/2015 12:08:24
Referee: Kristinn Jakobsson (ISL) – Stadium: Gradski Stadion Podgorica, Podgorica (MNE)
06/09/2015 09:49:08
Referee: Emir Alecković (BIH) – Stadium: Estadi Comunal, Andorra la Vella (AND)
05/22/2015 15:29:41
Referee: Carlos Velasco Carballo (ESP) – Stadium: Amsterdam ArenA, Amsterdam (NED)
06/05/2015 08:51:08
Referee: Artyom Kuchin (KAZ) – Stadium: Stadiumi Kombëtar Qemal Stafa, Tirana (ALB)
05/05/2015 09:53:33
Referee: Craig Thomson (SCO) – Stadium: Olympic Stadium, Helsinki (FIN)
04/18/2013 09:06:26
Referee: not available – Stadium: Stadion Stožice, Ljubljana (SVN)
06/07/2015 10:23:09
Referee: Kristo Tohver (EST) Stadium: Stade Josy Barthel, Luxembourg (LUX)
07/06/2015 16:24:17
Referee: not available – Stadium: Laugardalsvöllur, Reykjavik (ISL)
03/30/2015 14:36:37
Germany3-0Faroe Islands
Referee: Bobby Madden (SCO) – Stadium: Hannover Arena, Hanover (GER)
09/27/2013 15:13:50
Referee: Stefan Johannesson (SWE) – Stadium: Cardiff City Stadium, Cardiff (WAL)
04/28/2015 10:30:20
Referee: Martin Atkinson (ENG) – Stadium: Natsionalen Stadion Vasil Levski, Sofia (BUL)
04/18/2013 14:23:48
Referee: Pol van Boekel (NED) – Stadium: Stadionul Zimbru, Chisinau (MDA)
04/29/2015 09:39:52

Last updated: 29/06/2015 17:00 CET


Road to the final

European qualifying for the 2018 FIFA World Cup consists of a group stage and a play-off round, providing 13 UEFA member nations for the 32-team final tournament in Russia (who qualify as by right).

Qualifying group stage
Matches take place between 4 September 2016 and 10 October 2017 with seven groups of six teams and two of five. The nine group winners qualify directly for the finals and the eight runners-up with the best record against the teams finishing first, third, fourth and fifth in their section go into the play-offs.

The eight teams are drawn into four pairings for two-legged ties played from 9 abnd 14 November 2017. If scores are level after the second leg the team with the most away goals qualified, whether after 90 minutes or extra time. The four winners qualify for the finals.

Final tournament
The allocation for other confederations is: Asian Football Confederation (AFC) 4.5, Confederation of African Football (CAF) 5.0, Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) 3.5, South American Football Confederation (CONMEBOL) 4.5, Oceania Football Confederation (OFC) 0.5, and one slot for the hosts Russia. The teams are drawn into eight groups of four with the top two going into the knockout phase.

Further details, including the criteria for separating teams that finish level on points in a group, or after extra time in a match, can be found in the
official competition regulations.