All times CET

Quarter-finals : 4 July 2014

4 July 2014
Referee: not available – Stadium: Maracana, Rio de Janeiro (BRA)
06/04/2015 14:50:46
Referee: not available – Stadium: Estadio Castelao, Fortaleza (BRA)
06/04/2015 12:46:54

Quarter-finals : 5 July 2014

5 July 2014
Referee: not available – Stadium: Mane Garrincha, Brasilia (BRA)
06/04/2015 14:55:46
Netherlands0-0Costa Rica
Netherlands win 4-3 on penalties
Referee: not available – Stadium: Mangabeira, Salvador De Bahia (BRA)
06/04/2015 12:50:36

Last updated: 04/06/2015 15:51 CET


Road to the final

European qualifying for the 2018 FIFA World Cup consists of a group stage and a play-off round, providing 13 UEFA member nations for the 32-team final tournament in Russia (who qualify as by right).

Qualifying group stage
Matches take place between 4 September 2016 and 10 October 2017 with seven groups of six teams and two of five. The nine group winners qualify directly for the finals and the eight runners-up with the best record against the teams finishing first, third, fourth and fifth in their section go into the play-offs.

The eight teams are drawn into four pairings for two-legged ties played from 9 abnd 14 November 2017. If scores are level after the second leg the team with the most away goals qualified, whether after 90 minutes or extra time. The four winners qualify for the finals.

Final tournament
The allocation for other confederations is: Asian Football Confederation (AFC) 4.5, Confederation of African Football (CAF) 5.0, Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) 3.5, South American Football Confederation (CONMEBOL) 4.5, Oceania Football Confederation (OFC) 0.5, and one slot for the hosts Russia. The teams are drawn into eight groups of four with the top two going into the knockout phase.

Further details, including the criteria for separating teams that finish level on points in a group, or after extra time in a match, can be found in the
official competition regulations.