Final tournament - Group stage

Group A

1Brazil Brazil32107257
1Mexico Mexico32104137
3Croatia Croatia31026603
4Cameroon Cameroon300319-80

Group B

1Netherlands Netherlands330010379
2Chile Chile32015326
3Spain Spain310247-33
4Australia Australia300339-60

Group C

1Colombia Colombia33009279
2Greece Greece311124-24
3Côte d'Ivoire Côte d'Ivoire310245-13
4Japan Japan301226-41

Group D

1Costa Rica Costa Rica32104137
2Uruguay Uruguay32014406
3Italy Italy310223-13
4England England301224-21

Group E

1France France32108267
2Switzerland Switzerland32017616
3Ecuador Ecuador31113304
4Honduras Honduras300318-70

Group F

1Argentina Argentina33006339
2Nigeria Nigeria31113304
3Bosnia and Herzegovina Bosnia and Herzegovina31024403
4Iran Iran301214-31

Group G

1Germany Germany32107257
2USA USA31114404
3Portugal Portugal311147-34
4Ghana Ghana301246-21

Group H

1Belgium Belgium33004139
2Algeria Algeria31116514
3Russia Russia302123-12
4Korea Republic Korea Republic301236-31


P: Played   
W: Won   
D: Drawn   
L: Lost   
F: For   
A: Against   
+/-: Goal difference   
Last updated: 30/03/2015 11:37 CET

Road to the final

European qualifying for the 2014 FIFA World Cup consisted of a group stage and a play-off round, providing 13 UEFA member nations for the 32-team final tournament in Brazil.

Qualifying group stage
Matches took place between 7 September 2012 and 15 October 2013 with eight groups of six teams and one of five. The nine group winners qualified directly for the finals and the eight runners-up with the best record against the teams finishing first, third, fourth and fifth in their section went into the play-offs.

The eight teams were drawn into four pairings for two-legged ties played from 15 to 19 November 2013. If scores were level after the second leg the team with the most away goals qualified, whether after 90 minutes or extra time. The four winners qualified for the finals.

Final tournament
The allocation for other confederations is: Asian Football Confederation (AFC) 4.5, Confederation of African Football (CAF) 5.0, Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) 3.5, South American Football Confederation (CONMEBOL) 4.5, Oceania Football Confederation (OFC) 0.5, and one slot for the hosts Brazil. The teams were drawn into eight groups of four with the top two going into the knockout phase.

Further details, including the criteria for separating teams that finish level on points in a group, or after extra time in a match, can be found in the
official competition regulations.




Group stage

Knockout phase


  • © 1998-2015 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA logo and all marks related to UEFA competitions, are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.