Qualifying round

Group A

1Belgium Belgium108201841426
2Croatia Croatia10523129317
3Serbia Serbia104241811714
4Scotland Scotland10325812-411
5Wales Wales10316920-1110
6FYR Macedonia FYR Macedonia10217716-97

Group B

1Italy Italy106401991022
2Denmark Denmark104421712516
3Czech Republic Czech Republic10433139415
4Bulgaria Bulgaria10343149513
5Armenia Armenia104151213-113
6Malta Malta10109528-233

Group C

1Germany Germany1091036102628
2Sweden Sweden106221914520
3Austria Austria1052320101017
4Republic of Ireland Republic of Ireland104241617-114
5Kazakhstan Kazakhstan10127621-155
6Faroe Islands Faroe Islands10019429-251

Group D

1Netherlands Netherlands109103452928
2Romania Romania106131912719
3Hungary Hungary105232120117
4Turkey Turkey10514169716
5Estonia Estonia10217620-147
6Andorra Andorra100010030-300

Group E

1Switzerland Switzerland107301761124
2Iceland Iceland105231715217
3Slovenia Slovenia105051411315
4Norway Norway103341013-312
5Albania Albania10325911-211
6Cyprus Cyprus10127415-115

Group F

1Russia Russia107122051522
2Portugal Portugal106312091121
3Israel Israel103521914514
4Azerbaijan Azerbaijan10163711-49
5Northern Ireland Northern Ireland10145917-87
6Luxembourg Luxembourg10136726-196

Group G

1Bosnia and Herzegovina Bosnia and Herzegovina108113062425
2Greece Greece10811124825
3Slovakia Slovakia103431110113
4Lithuania Lithuania10325911-211
5Latvia Latvia102261020-108
6Liechtenstein Liechtenstein10028425-212

Group H

1England England106403142722
2Ukraine Ukraine106312842421
3Montenegro Montenegro104331817115
4Poland Poland103431812613
5Moldova Moldova103251217-511
6San Marino San Marino100010154-530

Group I

1Spain Spain86201431120
2France France8521156917
3Finland Finland823359-49
4Georgia Georgia8125310-75
5Belarus Belarus8116716-94
Last updated: 21/01/2015 12:20 CET


P: Played   
W: Won   
D: Drawn   
L: Lost   
F: For   
A: Against   
+/-: Goal difference   

Road to the final

European qualifying for the 2014 FIFA World Cup consisted of a group stage and a play-off round, providing 13 UEFA member nations for the 32-team final tournament in Brazil.

Qualifying group stage
Matches took place between 7 September 2012 and 15 October 2013 with eight groups of six teams and one of five. The nine group winners qualified directly for the finals and the eight runners-up with the best record against the teams finishing first, third, fourth and fifth in their section went into the play-offs.

The eight teams were drawn into four pairings for two-legged ties played from 15 to 19 November 2013. If scores were level after the second leg the team with the most away goals qualified, whether after 90 minutes or extra time. The four winners qualified for the finals.

Final tournament
The allocation for other confederations is: Asian Football Confederation (AFC) 4.5, Confederation of African Football (CAF) 5.0, Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) 3.5, South American Football Confederation (CONMEBOL) 4.5, Oceania Football Confederation (OFC) 0.5, and one slot for the hosts Brazil. The teams were drawn into eight groups of four with the top two going into the knockout phase.

Further details, including the criteria for separating teams that finish level on points in a group, or after extra time in a match, can be found in the
official competition regulations.




Group stage

Knockout phase


  • © 1998-2015 UEFA. All rights reserved.
  • The UEFA word, the UEFA logo and all marks related to UEFA competitions, are protected by trade marks and/or copyright of UEFA. No use for commercial purposes may be made of such trade marks. Use of UEFA.com signifies your agreement to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.