Select a month

9 November 2017
Referee: Gianluca Rocchi (ITA) Stadium: Stadion Maksimir, Zagreb (CRO)
11/10/2017 08:26:28
Northern Ireland0-1Switzerland
Referee: Ovidiu Haţegan (ROU) Stadium: Windsor Park, Belfast (NIR)
11/10/2017 08:24:26
10 November 2017
Referee: Cüneyt Çakır (TUR) Stadium: Friends Arena, Solna (SWE)
11/11/2017 11:55:23
11 November 2017
Denmark0-0Republic of Ireland
Referee: Milorad Mažić (SRB) Stadium: Telia Parken, Copenhagen (DEN)
11/12/2017 09:20:08
12 November 2017
Switzerland0-0Northern Ireland
Aggregate: 1-0 (agg: 1-0)
Referee: Felix Brych (GER) Stadium: St. Jakob-Park, Basel (SUI)
11/13/2017 08:09:59
Aggregate: 1-4 (agg: 1-4)
Referee: Björn Kuipers (NED) Stadium: Stadio Georgios Karaiskakis, Piraeus (GRE)
11/13/2017 08:08:37
13 November 2017
Aggregate: 0-1 (agg: 0-1)
Referee: Antonio Mateu Lahoz (ESP) Stadium: Stadio San Siro, Milan (ITA)
11/14/2017 18:56:15
14 November 2017
Republic of Ireland1-5Denmark
Aggregate: 1-5 (agg: 1-5)
Referee: Szymon Marciniak (POL) Stadium: Aviva Stadium, Dublin (IRL)
11/15/2017 09:27:05

Last updated: 01/11/2017 02:00 CET

Road to the final

European qualifying for the 2018 FIFA World Cup consists of a group stage and a play-off round, providing 13 UEFA member nations for the 32-team final tournament in Russia (who qualify as by right).

Qualifying group stage
Matches take place between 4 September 2016 and 10 October 2017 with seven groups of six teams and two of five. The nine group winners qualify directly for the finals and the eight runners-up with the best record against the teams finishing first, third, fourth and fifth in their section go into the play-offs.

The eight teams are drawn into four pairings for two-legged ties played from 9 abnd 14 November 2017. If scores are level after the second leg the team with the most away goals qualified, whether after 90 minutes or extra time. The four winners qualify for the finals.

Final tournament
The allocation for other confederations is: Asian Football Confederation (AFC) 4.5, Confederation of African Football (CAF) 5.0, Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) 3.5, South American Football Confederation (CONMEBOL) 4.5, Oceania Football Confederation (OFC) 0.5, and one slot for the hosts Russia. The teams are drawn into eight groups of four with the top two going into the knockout phase.

Further details, including the criteria for separating teams that finish level on points in a group, or after extra time in a match, can be found in the
official competition regulations.