Qualifying round

Group A

1Sweden Sweden6411124813
2France France6411115613
3Netherlands Netherlands6312136710
4Bulgaria Bulgaria6303912-39
5Belarus Belarus6123411-75
6Luxembourg Luxembourg6015617-111

Group B

1Switzerland Switzerland6600123918
2Portugal Portugal65012231915
3Hungary Hungary62138717
4Faroe Islands Faroe Islands6123210-85
5Andorra Andorra6114213-114
6Latvia Latvia6105212-103

Group C

1Germany Germany66002712618
2Northern Ireland Northern Ireland6411112913
3Czech Republic Czech Republic62319549
4Azerbaijan Azerbaijan621339-67
5Norway Norway6114610-44
6San Marino San Marino6006130-290

Group D

1Serbia Serbia6330137612
2Republic of Ireland Republic of Ireland633084412
3Wales Wales61509548
4Austria Austria62229818
5Georgia Georgia6033610-43
6Moldova Moldova6024415-112

Group E

1Poland Poland6510157816
2Montenegro Montenegro6312147710
3Denmark Denmark6312106410
4Romania Romania61327706
5Armenia Armenia6204714-76
6Kazakhstan Kazakhstan6024416-122

Group F

1England England6420102814
2Slovakia Slovakia6402124812
3Slovenia Slovenia632163311
4Scotland Scotland6222910-18
5Lithuania Lithuania6123611-55
6Malta Malta6006215-130

Group G

1Spain Spain65102131816
2Italy Italy65101841416
3Albania Albania630378-19
4Israel Israel6303912-39
5FYR Macedonia FYR Macedonia6105813-53
6Liechtenstein Liechtenstein6006124-230

Group H

1Belgium Belgium65102422216
2Greece Greece6330103712
3Bosnia and Herzegovina Bosnia and Herzegovina6321135811
4Cyprus Cyprus621359-47
5Estonia Estonia6114517-124
6Gibraltar Gibraltar6006324-210

Group I

1Croatia Croatia6411112913
2Iceland Iceland641196313
3Turkey Turkey6321116511
4Ukraine Ukraine632195411
5Finland Finland6015410-61
6Kosovo Kosovo6015318-151


P: Played   
W: Won   
D: Drawn   
L: Lost   
F: For   
A: Against   
+/-: Goal difference   
Last updated: 17/06/2017 13:54 CET

Road to the final

European qualifying for the 2018 FIFA World Cup consists of a group stage and a play-off round, providing 13 UEFA member nations for the 32-team final tournament in Russia (who qualify as by right).

Qualifying group stage
Matches take place between 4 September 2016 and 10 October 2017 with seven groups of six teams and two of five. The nine group winners qualify directly for the finals and the eight runners-up with the best record against the teams finishing first, third, fourth and fifth in their section go into the play-offs.

The eight teams are drawn into four pairings for two-legged ties played from 9 abnd 14 November 2017. If scores are level after the second leg the team with the most away goals qualified, whether after 90 minutes or extra time. The four winners qualify for the finals.

Final tournament
The allocation for other confederations is: Asian Football Confederation (AFC) 4.5, Confederation of African Football (CAF) 5.0, Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) 3.5, South American Football Confederation (CONMEBOL) 4.5, Oceania Football Confederation (OFC) 0.5, and one slot for the hosts Russia. The teams are drawn into eight groups of four with the top two going into the knockout phase.

Further details, including the criteria for separating teams that finish level on points in a group, or after extra time in a match, can be found in the
official competition regulations.