

Union des associations européennes de football

Media Release Communiqué aux médias Medien-Mitteilung



## UEFA EURO 2008™ Team of the Tournament

Date: 30/06/2008

No. 097

## Spain's Xavi Hernández named Castrol Player of the Tournament

The UEFA Technical Team for UEFA EURO 2008™ has today released the list of 23 players named as the Team of the Tournament. In addition Spain's Xavi Hernández has been nominated as the UEFA EURO 2008™ Castrol Player of the Tournament.

Xavi Hernández was chosen by the nine-strong group of experienced football technicians who have been following all the matches at UEFA EURO 2008™, who also took account of the internet users' vote on the Castrol Performance Index website.

| Name                          | No. | Country     |
|-------------------------------|-----|-------------|
| Goalkeepers                   | •   |             |
| Gianluigi BUFFON              | 1   | Italy       |
| Iker CASILLAS                 | 1   | Spain       |
| Edwin VAN DER SAR             | 1   | Netherlands |
| Defenders                     | •   |             |
| José BOSINGWA                 | 4   | Portugal    |
| Philipp LAHM                  | 16  | Germany     |
| Carlos MARCHENA               | 4   | Spain       |
| PEPE                          | 15  | Portugal    |
| Carles PUYOL                  | 5   | Spain       |
| Yury ZHIRKOV                  | 18  | Russia      |
| Midfielders                   |     |             |
| Hamit ALTINTOP                | 22  | Turkey      |
| Luka MODRIC                   | 14  | Croatia     |
| Marcos SENNA                  | 19  | Spain       |
| XAVI Hernández                | 8   | Spain       |
| Konstantin ZYRYANOV           | 17  | Russia      |
| Midfielders – middle-to-front |     |             |
| Michael BALLACK               | 13  | Germany     |
| Cesc FABREGAS                 | 10  | Spain       |
| Andrés INIESTA                | 6   | Spain       |
| Lukas PODOLSKI                | 20  | Germany     |
| Wesley SNEIJDER               | 10  | Netherlands |
| Attackers                     |     |             |
| Andrey ARSHAVIN               | 10  | Russia      |
| Roman PAVLYUCHENKO            | 19  | Russia      |
| Fernando TORRES               | 9   | Spain       |
| David VILLA                   | 7   | Spain       |