The official website for European football

Team of the Year 2006

Players from UEFA Champions League winners FC Barcelona and FIFA World Cup winners Italy feature prominently in the users' Team of 2006.
Team of the Year 2006
Team of the Year 2006 ©


Team of the Year 2006

Players from UEFA Champions League winners FC Barcelona and FIFA World Cup winners Italy feature prominently in the users' Team of 2006.

The users' Team of 2006 has been announced with players from UEFA Champions League winners FC Barcelona and FIFA World Cup winners Italy dominating the selection.

Record vote
Nearly four million votes were cast by a record 390,000 individual users and the resulting dream dozen includes four players who were also in last year's lineup as well as five newcomers.

Barcelona dominate
European champions Barcelona have four players – summer recruit Gianluca Zambrotta, Carles Puyol, Ronaldinho and Samuel Eto'o - in the side along with coach Frank Rijkaard. With almost 292,000 nominations, Ronaldinho received the highest number of votes. Barça's UEFA Champions League final opponents Arsenal FC lend two players to the team in teenage central midfielder Cesc Fabregas and striker Thierry Henry, back for the fifth time after missing out last year.

Italy recognition
Three members of Italy's World-Cup winning squad - Zambrotta, Fabio Cannavaro and Gianluigi Buffon, goalkeeper for the third time in four years - have been chosen, while another World Cup star, Germany's Philipp Lahm, is a novelty at left-back. Another fresh face, AC Milan maestro Kaká, takes the attacking midfield berth while Steven Gerrard, chosen in central midfield last term, gets the nod in the right-midfield category on this occasion.

Fan involvement site manager Adrian Harte said: "We are delighted with the record vote this year as we have always believed that it is important for our users, the fans, to have their voice heard as they are the ones supporting our competitions. The final team is an excellent one, featuring some established stars and some talented young European players. Indeed, all but one of the players will be back in UEFA Champions League action next month, further proof that the competition showcases the best players in the world." users' Team of 2006:
Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus), Gianluca Zambrotta (FC Barcelona), Fabio Cannavaro (Real Madrid CF), Carles Puyol (FC Barcelona), Philipp Lahm (FC Bayern München), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool FC), Cesc Fabregas (Arsenal FC), Kaká (AC Milan), Ronaldinho (FC Barcelona), Thierry Henry (Arsenal FC), Samuel Eto'o (FC Barcelona). Frank Rijkaard (FC Barcelona). users' Team of 2005:
Petr Čech (Chelsea FC), Cafu (AC Milan), John Terry (Chelsea FC), Carles Puyol (FC Barcelona), Paolo Maldini (AC Milan), Luis García (Liverpool FC), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool FC), Ronaldinho (FC Barcelona), Pavel Nedvěd (Juventus), Samuel Eto'o (FC Barcelona), Andriy Shevchenko (AC Milan). José Mourinho (Chelsea FC). users' Team of 2004:
Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus FC and Italy), Cafu (AC Milan), Ricardo Carvalho (Chelsea FC and Portugal), Alessandro Nesta (AC Milan and Italy), Ashley Cole (Arsenal FC and England), Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United FC and Portugal), Maniche (FC Porto and Portugal), Ronaldinho (FC Barcelona), Pavel Nedved (Juventus FC and Czech Republic), Thierry Henry (Arsenal FC and France), Andriy Shevchenko (AC Milan and Ukraine). José Mourinho (Chelsea FC). users' Team of 2003:
Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus FC), Paulo Ferreira (FC Porto) Alessandro Nesta (AC Milan), Paolo Maldini (AC Milan), Roberto Carlos (Real Madrid CF), Luís Figo (Real Madrid CF), David Beckham (Real Madrid CF), Zinedine Zidane (Real Madrid CF), Pavel Nedved (Juventus FC), Thierry Henry (Arsenal FC), Ruud van Nistelrooij (Manchester United FC). José Mourinho (FC Porto). users' Team of 2002:
Rüstu Reçber (Fenerbahçe SK), Carles Puyol (FC Barcelona), Alessandro Nesta (AC Milan), Cristian Chivu (AFC Ajax), Roberto Carlos (Real Madrid CF), Clarence Seedorf (AC Milan), Michael Ballack (FC Bayern München), Zinedine Zidane (Real Madrid CF), Damien Duff (Blackburn Rovers FC), Thierry Henry (Arsenal FC), Ronaldo (Real Madrid CF). Senol Günes (Turkey). users' Team of 2001:
Santiago Cañizares (Valencia CF), Cosmin Contra (Deportivo Alavés), Sami Hyypiä (Liverpool FC), Patrik Andersson (FC Barcelona), Bixente Lizarazu (FC Bayern München), David Beckham (Manchester United FC), Patrick Vieira (Arsenal FC), Zinedine Zidane (Real Madrid CF), Kily González (Valencia CF), Thierry Henry (Arsenal FC), David Trezeguet (Juventus FC). Gérard Houllier (Liverpool FC).

Last updated: 04/12/14 16.56CET