Norway name squad for Hungary clash

Norway coach Per-Mathias Høgmo has named a squad filled with attacking options for his side's UEFA EURO 2016 play-off, saying: "We feel we know Hungary well."

Norway coach Per-Mathias Høgmo
Norway coach Per-Mathias Høgmo ©Sportsfile

Strømsgodset's in-form striker Marcus Pedersen has forced his way into Per-Mathias Høgmo's plans for the upcoming UEFA EURO 2016 play-off against Hungary.

The 25-year-old forward, who has scored three goals in his last three games in the Tippeligaen, has been named alongside Rosenborg's Alexander Søderlund, who currently sits top of the league's scoring charts with 22 goals from 29 games, and Greuther Fürth's Veton Berisha, meaning there is no place in the squad for AFC Bournemouth striker Joshua King.

"We have made a point of selecting players that are in very good form at the moment. That is why I opted for Pedersen in attack," explained the Norway coach.

The play-off sees Hungary visit Oslo on 12 November, with the return leg in Budapest three days later and Norway – who have not lost to their opponents since 1981 – are confident they have what it takes to reach their first EURO since 2000.

"There is a lot of positive energy in this group of players, but we will also need to be well-prepared," Høgmo said. "Ranking points are not important going into these games  doing your homework is. We feel we know Hungary well, and know what to expect."

Norway squad
Goalkeepers: Rune Jarstein (Hertha Berlin), André Hansen (Rosenborg), Ørjan Nyland (Ingolstadt).

Defenders: Haitam Aleesami (IFK Göteborg), Omar Elabdellaoui (Olympiacos), Vegard Forren (Molde), Even Hovland (Nürnberg), Tom Høgli (København), Martin Linnes (Molde), Håvard Nordtveit (Borussia Mönchengladbach), Stefan Strandberg (Krasnodar).

Midfielders: Jo Inge Berget (Malmö), Valon Berisha (Salzburg), Mohammed Elyounoussi (Molde), Pål André Helland (Rosenborg), Markus Henriksen (AZ Alkmaar), Stefan Johansen (Celtic), Ole Selnæs (Rosenborg), Per Ciljan Skjelbred (Hertha Berlin), Alexander Tettey (Norwich City), Martin Ødegaard (Real Madrid).

Forwards: Veton Berisha (Greuther Fürth), Marcus Pedersen (Strømsgodset), Alexander Søderlund (Rosenborg).