Futsal EURO qualifying group stage guide

The new home-and-away qualifiers will begin on 8 December.

Holders Portugal will begin their title defence in Group 8
Holders Portugal will begin their title defence in Group 8 ©FPF

For the first time, UEFA Futsal EURO qualifying includes a qualifying group stage with the eight four-team sections played home and away between December and April.

The eight group winners and the six best runners-up join hosts the Netherlands in the finals from 9 January to 6 February 2022, with the remaining two runners-up to play off for the other berth from 14–17 November 2021.

  • The finals have now expanded to 16 teams and are played every four years rather than every two
  • Portugal aim to defend the title they won for the first time in Slovenia in 2018
  • Spain have won seven titles (including the initial 1996 tournament before Futsal EURO gained championship status in 1999)
  • Two-time champions Italy and 1999 winners Russia, along with Spain, have played in every final tournament
  • Of the teams currently confirmed in the qualifying group stage, these are hoping to earn a finals debut: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Denmark, Finland, Georgia, Greece, Israel, Latvia, Moldova, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Norway, Slovakia, Switzerland
  • Czech Republic, Kazakhstan, Portugal, Russia and Spain along with hosts Lithuania will compete at the 2021 FIFA Futsal World Cup from 12 September to 3 October with either Finland or Serbia to join them when their play-off is completed

Qualifying groups

Futsal EURO 2018 final highlights
Futsal EURO 2018 final highlights

Group 1: Denmark, Croatia, Albania, Ukraine

First games
8 December: Croatia vs Albania

Group 2: Bulgaria/Armenia*, France, Georgia, Russia

*Will play postponed qualifying round play-off on 6 and 9 December

First games
8 December: France vs Georgia

Group 3: Greece, Azerbaijan, Slovakia, Moldova

First games
8 December: Azerbaijan vs Slovakia, Moldova vs Greece

Group 4: North Macedonia, Romania, Serbia, Bosnia and Herzegovina

First games
28 January: Romania vs Serbia, Bosnia and Herzegovina vs North Macedonia

Group 5: Israel, Kazakhstan, Hungary, Belarus

First games
8 December: Israel vs Belarus
9 December: Kazakhstan vs Hungary

Group 6: Switzerland, Spain, Latvia, Slovenia

First games
8 December: Spain vs Latvia, Slovenia vs Switzerland

Group 7: Montenegro, Italy, Belgium, Finland

First games
8 December: Italy vs Belgium
9 December: Finland vs Montenegro

Group 8: Poland, Portugal (holders), Norway, Czech Republic

First games
29 January: Czech Republic vs Poland, Portugal vs Norway

Fixture dates

8–9 December 2020
27 January–3 February 2021
2–10 March 2021
6–14 April 2021


Eighth-ranked runner-up vs Seventh-ranked runner-up

  • Two-legged tie from 14–17 November 2021.


  • The teams who competed in the FIFA Futsal World Cup elite round: Azerbaijan, Belarus, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, France, Italy, Kazakhstan, Portugal (holders), Romania, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Ukraine
  • The nine qualifying round group winners: Albania, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Georgia, Hungary, Latvia, Moldova, Norway, Poland
  • The seven qualifying round play-off winners: Denmark, Greece, Israel, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Switzerland, 1 more tbc