Eder Lima claims adidas Golden Boot

Russia's Eder Lima finished ahead of Fernandão and Gabriel Lima to claim the UEFA Futsal EURO 2014 adidas Golden Boot as top scorer, his eight-goal tally the best for 15 years.

Eder Lima scores in the final
Eder Lima scores in the final ©Sportsfile

Russia's Eder Lima claimed the UEFA Futsal EURO 2014 adidas Golden Boot as top scorer, striking in their 3-1 final defeat by Italy to reach eight goals.

The forward, also the nine-goal top scorer at the 2012 FIFA Futsal World Cup to complete a unique double, scored two in each of Russia's group games, and hat-trick in the 6-0 quarter-final defeat of Romania took him to seven, already the highest total since the first 12-team tournament took place in 2010. His eventual haul has only been bettered in a single UEFA Futsal EURO by one man, the late Russia forward Konstantin Eremenko, who managed 11 in 1999.

Also the first player to finish outright top scorer since Nando Grana of Italy in 2005, Eder Lima was three clear of Spain pivot Fernandão, whose two goals in the third-place play-off against Portugal earned him the adidas Silver Boot on five goals. Italy's Gabriel Lima scored one and made one in the final, to pip team-mate Fortino and Slovenia's Gašper Vrhovec to the Bronze Boot om assists.

Roll of honour
Golden Boot: Eder Lima (Russia) 8 goals, 4 assists (5 games)
Silver Boot: Fernandão 5 goals, 0 assists (5 games)
Bronze Boot: Gabriel Lima (Italy) 4 goals, 3 assists, 1 yellow card (5 games)

Full statistics

1) Higher number of assists:
• Player delivering the intentional pass, cross, header or shot leading to a goal
• Player shooting and ball rebounding from woodwork, goalkeeper or defender and entering the goal
• Player passing, shooting or crossing and leading to an own goal
• Only one assist per goal can be awarded
• No assist for player winning a penalty or free-kick
2) Higher ratio of converted double (ten-metre) penalties
3) Higher ratio of converted (six-metre) penalties
4) Higher number of goals scored in fewer matches
5) Fair play record (red, yellow cards)

Past final tournament top scorers
2012: Torras (Spain)*, Dario Marinović (Croatia) 5
2010: Saad Assis (Italy), Biro Jade (Azerbaijan), Javi Rodríguez (Spain), Joel Queirós (Portugal) 5
2007: Cirilo (Russia), Daniel (Spain), Predrag Rajić (Serbia) 5
2005: Nando Grana (Italy) 6
2003: Serhiy Koridze (Ukraine) 7
2001: Serhiy Koridze (Ukraine) 7
1999: Konstantin Eremenko (Russia) 11
1996: Konstantin Eremenko (Russia) 8

*Torras won Golden Boot on assists