The official website for European football

Honorary members

Honorary members
New UEFA honorary member Marios N. Lefkaritis (Cyprus) and UEFA President Aleksander Čeferin at the 41st UEFA Ordinary Congress in Helsinki in April 2017 ©


  • Charlotte Hogg (centre), CEO of Visa Europe makes the announcement in London joined by Visa apprentices, Munirah Sawyers (left) and Olivia Ironmonger (right)
  • UEFA Executive Committee meeting press conference 03.12.2018
  • UEFA Executive Committee meeting in Dublin
  • UEFA Executive Committe - Dublin 2018


UEFA may, on the proposal of the UEFA Executive Committee, bestow the status of honorary president or honorary membership upon a person for especially meritorious services to European football.

Honorary presidents may attend the UEFA Congress and UEFA Executive Committee meetings in an advisory capacity, but have no vote. Honorary members may attend the UEFA Congress in an advisory capacity, but have no vote.

UEFA honorary president
Lennart Johansson (SWE)

UEFA honorary members
Gerhard Aigner (GER)
Hans Bangerter (SUI)
Egidius Braun (GER)
Des Casey (IRL)
Şenes Erzik (TUR)
Jean Fournet-Fayard (FRA)
Vyacheslav Koloskov (RUS)
Marios N. Lefkaritis (CYP)
Antonio Matarrese (ITA)
Joseph Mifsud (MLT)
Per Ravn Omdal (NOR)
Giangiorgio Spiess (SUI)
Geoffrey Thompson (ENG)

Last updated: 03/07/17 22.06CET