UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Wolfgang Niersbach

Currently suspended

Wolfgang Niersbach
Wolfgang Niersbach ©Getty Images

Nationality: German
Date of birth: 30 November 1950
Executive Committee member since: 2013

Current UEFA roles
UEFA Executive Committee (member)
National Team Competitions Committee (chairman)
Media Committee (deputy chairman)
Finance Committee (member)

• Wolfgang Niersbach started his career as a journalist for the sports news agency Sport-Informations-Dienst (SID), and covered football and ice hockey at several FIFA World Cups, UEFA European Championships and Olympic Games. He then accepted an offer from the German Football Association (DFB) to work as head of the press office for EURO '88 in Germany.

• Having headed the DFB's press office for many years, he then moved on to become managing vice-president of the local organising committee (LOC) for the 2006 FIFA World Cup in Germany. In October 2007, he was elected as DFB general secretary, succeeding Horst R Schmidt. Niersbach lives in his native Dreieich near Frankfurt, and is also a keen tennis player.

• He was elected as DFB president in March 2012. Niersbach emphasised cooperation between professional football and the grassroots as the foundation for the game's successful development. "The national team is the best example to all of us of how professional and amateur football complement each other and can profit from each other. My wish is that this example can work as a role model for the entire game." He was elected to the UEFA Executive Committee at the XXXVII Ordinary UEFA Congress in London in May 2013, and re-elected as DFB president for a further three years in October of the same year. Niersbach was elected as a FIFA Executive Committee member in March 2015. He stepped down from the DFB presidency in November 2015.

Previous UEFA roles
UEFA Media Committee (member) 1992-2000
Media Panel (member) 2000-2004
National Associations Committee (member) 2007-2009
National Team Competitions Committee (member) 2009-2013