UEFA Executive Committee decisions

Venues for the finals of the 2017 club competitions, UEFA EURO 2016 draw details and the dates for the next U21 EURO were among the agenda for the UEFA Executive Committee.

UEFA Executive Committee meets in Prague
UEFA Executive Committee meets in Prague

035 - Stockholm to stage UEFA Europa League final and Skopje to welcome UEFA Super Cup

The UEFA Executive Committee, chaired by UEFA President Michel Platini, met in Prague, Czech Republic ahead of the UEFA European Under-21 Championship final between Sweden and Portugal.

The committee appointed the venues for the finals of the 2017 club competitions as follows:

• UEFA Champions League: Millennium Stadium, Cardiff, Wales

• UEFA Europa League: Friends Arena, Stockholm, Sweden

• UEFA Super Cup: Nacionalna Arena Filip II, Skopje, FYR Macedonia

The hosts of the next two Ordinary UEFA Congresses were appointed: Helsinki, Finland in 2017 and Bratislava, Slovakia in 2018.

The new Club Licensing and Financial Fair Play regulations were approved (see Media Release 034).

Karen Espelund was confirmed by acclamation as the female representative on the UEFA Executive Committee for a further four-year term.

The vice-presidents of UEFA were nominated as follows:

1st vice-president: Angel María Villar Llona (Spain)

2nd vice-president: Marios N. Lefkaritis (Cyprus)

3rd vice-president: Giancarlo Abete (Italy)

4th vice-president: Grigoriy Surkis (Ukraine)

5th vice-president: Michael van Praag (Netherlands)

The draw procedures for the UEFA EURO 2016 play-offs and final tournament were approved. For the play-off draw - which will take place in Nyon on 18 October - the eight teams are divided into two groups of seeded and non-seeded teams, based on the UEFA national team coefficient rankings. Each fixture will see a seeded team play against a non-seeded team, with the first team drawn to play the first leg at home.

For the final draw in Paris on 12 December, the 23 qualified teams will be divided into four pots of five teams (pot 1, as France is directly seeded in position A1) or six teams (pots 2, 3 and 4). Spain are the reigning European champions, and will be seeded in pot 1, if they qualify. Starting with pot 1 and then moving up from pot 4 to pot 2, each of the six final tournament groups will, in the end, be composed of one team from each pot.

The UEFA Executive Committee received a positive update on the preparations for UEFA EURO 2016, as well as the huge interest in the general public ticket sales which are being conducted via EURO 2016.com until 10 July, with more than five million requests already received from 193 countries around the world for the one million tickets that are available.

The dates of the 2017 UEFA European Under-21 Championship in Poland were confirmed. The tournament will take place from 16 to 30 June 2017.

Finally, the composition of the UEFA committees and expert panels; the Control, Ethics and Disciplinary Body; the Governance and Compliance Committee and the Appeals Body was approved for the 2015-19 period.

The next meeting of the UEFA Executive Committee is scheduled to take place in St. Julian’s, Malta on 17/18 September 2015.