UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Candidates confirmed for Congress vote

Nine candidates will stand for election to the UEFA Executive Committee with the vote taking place at the XXXVII Ordinary UEFA Congress on 24 May in London.

There are eight seats on the UEFA Executive Committee
There are eight seats on the UEFA Executive Committee ©UEFA.com

The UEFA Executive Committee was today informed of the list of candidates standing for election at the XXXVII Ordinary UEFA Congress in London.

The closing date for applications was set for Sunday 24 March – two months before the staging of the Congress – in accordance with UEFA Statutes.

UEFA Executive Committee elections
A total of nine representatives from UEFA's national associations have submitted their candidature for election for the eight available seats on the Executive Committee for a four-year term, 2013–17.

Six of the Executive Committee members whose period in office is expiring are standing for re-election: Giancarlo Abete, Allan Hansen, František Laurinec, Marios N Lefkaritis, Avraham Luzon and Michael van Praag. Three other representatives – David Gill, Fernando Gomes and Wolfgang Niersbach – complete the list of nine candidates.

The elections will take place at the XXXVII Ordinary UEFA Congress, to be held at Grosvenor House hotel in London, on 24 May.

FIFA Executive Committee elections 
In addition, as the terms of office of four European members of the FIFA Executive Committee will end at the FIFA Congress on 31 May in Mauritius, four European members will also be elected at the forthcoming XXXVII Ordinary UEFA Congress, each for a four-year term.

Candidates for European members of the FIFA Executive Committee standing for re-election are: Dr Michel D'Hooghe, Şenes Erzik, Marios N Lefkaritis and Vitaly Mutko.

The following terms of office expire in 2013 and the resulting vacant positions will be filled at the XXVII Ordinary UEFA Congress:

UEFA Executive Committee (in alphabetical order)
Giancarlo Abete, Italy
Marios N Lefkaritis, Cyprus
Geoffrey Thompson, England

Allan Hansen, Denmark
František Laurinec, Slovakia
Avraham Luzon, Israel
Michael van Praag, Netherlands
Dr Theo Zwanziger, Germany

European members of the FIFA Executive Committee (in alphabetical order)
Dr Michel D'Hooghe, Belgium
Şenes Erzik, Turkey
Marios N Lefkaritis, Cyprus
Vitaly Mutko, Russia