UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

UEFA.com Team of the Year 2014 announced

Record 8.6 million votes cast online

001 - Record 8.6 million votes cast online

After a record tally of more than 8.6 million votes were cast in the UEFA.com users' Team of the Year 2014 poll, the final XI features four players from FC Bayern München and a record ninth appearance for Cristiano Ronaldo. The Spanish top league has most representatives with five players.


UEFA.com users' Team of the Year 2014

Manuel Neuer (FC Bayern München & Germany), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid CF & Spain), Philipp Lahm (FC Bayern München & Germany), David Alaba (FC Bayern München & Austria), Diego Godín (Club Atlético de Madrid & Uruguay), Arjen Robben (FC Bayern München & Netherlands), Ángel Di María (Real Madrid CF/Manchester United FC & Argentina), Toni Kroos (FC Bayern München/Real Madrid CF & Germany), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid CF & Portugal), Lionel Messi (FC Barcelona & Argentina), Zlatan Ibrahimović (Paris Saint-Germain & Sweden).


Three players make their debut in the 14th annual selection, picked from a shortlist of 40 chosen by UEFA.com staff writers on the basis of their performances for a European club or national side in 2014. Two of the debutants, Diego Godín and Ángel Di María, both played in the UEFA Champions League final between Real Madrid CF and Club Atlético de Madrid. Toni Kroos won the 2014 FIFA World Cup with Germany and moved to Real Madrid CF from FC Bayern München.


Cristiano Ronaldo received the most votes – 623,046 – and is in the UEFA.com Team of the Year for an unprecedented eighth time in a row. He is partnered up front again by Zlatan Ibrahimović and Lionel Messi, who features for the sixth time after missing out last year.


Users were invited to decide on their preferred formation, with the majority opting for an attacking 4-3-3. The total of 8.6 million votes surpasses 2013 when 6.3 million selections were made. Almost 200,000 of this year's picks were made directly via the official UEFA Champions League twitter page, while the remaining 8.4 million were made by 764,584 visitors to UEFA.com.


Continuing its support of the International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC), UEFA will, for an eighth time, set aside €100,000 for players voted into the UEFA.com users' Team of the Year to present to the ICRC.


Full voting results and previous UEFA.com users’ Teams of the Year can be found at en.toty.uefa.com.