uefa.com Team of the Year 2009 open for voting

Fans have until 8 January 2010 to cast vote online

119 – Fans have until 8 January 2010 to cast vote online

Voting for the uefa.com users' Team of 2009 has opened. The poll, now in its ninth year, gives the users of uefa.com the chance to select a team of players who have made their mark in European football over the last 12 months.

Sixty players and managers have been nominated for 12 positions, including coach, and the final team will be announced on 20 January 2010 on uefa.com and in the January issue of Champions, the official UEFA Champions League magazine. The nominees were chosen by uefa.com staff writers on the basis of their coverage of football throughout Europe on a daily basis. The players were selected for their overall performances either for a European club or national team, or in a UEFA club competition in 2009.

The uefa.com Team of the Year is not intended as a rival to more established awards, and does not bear the official UEFA imprimatur. Nevertheless, it has already proved hugely popular with fans, and over 13 million votes have been cast in previous polls.

UEFA Champions League winners FC Barcelona lead the nominations, with eleven players plus coach Josep Guardiola in the running, while last season's beaten finalists Manchester United FC have six players and manager Sir Alex Ferguson facing the vote. In total, 23 clubs have players or a coach on the shortlist. There is no shortage of familiar faces among the nominees, with ten of the 12 winners from 2008 again under scrutiny. In addition, Barcelona captain Carles Puyol, who has been selected in four of the previous eight Teams of the Year, is again up for selection. However, with the likes of VfL Wolfsburg trio Edin Džeko, Grafite and Marcel Schäfer, Werder Bremen's Mesut Özil, Miloš Krasić (PFC CSKA Moskva and Serbia) and Marek Hamšík (SSC Napoli and Slovakia) among those in the running for the first time, the list also has a fresh feel.

UEFA will present a cheque for €100,000 to the captain of the uefa.com users' Team of the Year, to be donated to the International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC). UEFA began its partnership with the ICRC when it started to support its anti-landmine campaign in 1997. This will
be third time that the ICRC will benefit from the cheque offered by UEFA in relation to the selection of the uefa.com users Team of the Year. All monies donated have gone to the Score for the Red Cross campaign in support of the ICRC rehabilitation project for landmine victims in
Afghanistan, providing them with artificial limbs, physiotherapy and vocational training. The first captain to hand over the donation was Portuguese superstar Cristiano Ronaldo, who gave the cheque for CHF 100,000 (€63,100), that he received for the uefa.com users' Team of 2007 award. Spanish ace Xavi Hernández presented the cheque last year.

Users can vote by accessing www.uefa.com/teamoftheyear.

- Edwin van der Sar (Manchester United FC)
- Iker Casillas (Real Madrid CF and Spain)
- Víctor Valdés (FC Barcelona)
- Júlio César (FC Internazionale Milano and Spain)
- Manuel Neuer (FC Schalke 04 and Germany)

- Daniel Alves (FC Barcelona and Brazil)
- Maicon (FC Internazionale Milano and Brazil)
- Darijo Srna (FC Shakhtar Donestsk and Croatia)
- Javier Zanetti (FC Internazionale Milano)
- Philipp Lahm (FC Bayern München and Germany)

- Patrice Evra (Manchester United and France)
- Ashley Cole (Chelsea FC and England)
- Eric Abidal (FC Barcelona and France)
- Aly Cissokho (Olympique Lyonnais and France)
- Marcel Schäfer (VfL Wolfsburg and Germany)

Central defenders
- John Terry (Chelsea FC and England)
- Nemanja Vidić (Manchester United FC and Serbia)
- Gerard Piqué (FC Barcelona and Spain)
- Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus and Italy)
- Rio Ferdinand (Manchester United and England)
- Carlos Puyol (FC Barcelona and Spain)
- Dmytro Chygrynskiy (FC Barcelona and Ukraine)
- Thomas Vermaelen (Arsenal FC and Belgium)
- Per Mertesacker (Werder Bremen and Germany)
- Bruno Alves (FC Porto and Portugal)

Right midfield
- Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid CF and Portugal)
- Dejan Stanković (FC Internazionale Milano and Serbia)
- Miloš Krasić (PFC CSKA Moskva and Serbia)
- Jesús Navas (Sevilla FC and Spain)
- Marek Hamšík (SSC Napoli and Slovakia)

Central midfield
- Xavi Hernández (FC Barcelona and Spain)
- Xabi Alonso (Real Madrid CF and Spain)
- Yaya Touré (FC Barcelona and Ivory Coast)
- Sergei Semak (FC Rubin Kazan and Russia)
- Frank Lampard (Chelsea FC and England)

Attacking midfield
- Steven Gerrard (Liverpool FC and England)
- Kaká (Real Madrid CF and Brazil)
- Yoann Gourcuff (FC Girondins de Bordeaux and France)
- Zvjezdan Misimović (VfL Wolfsburg and Bosnia-Herzegovina)
- Diego (Juventus and Brazil)

Left midfield
- Ryan Giggs (Manchester United FC and Wales)
- Franck Ribéry (FC Bayern München and France)
- Andriy Arshavin (Arsenal FC and Russia)
- Andrés Iniesta (FC Barcelona and Spain)
- Mesut Özil (Werder Bremen and Germany)

- Samuel Eto'o (FC Internazionale Milano and Cameroon)
- Edin Džeko (VfL Wolfsburg and Bosnia-Herzegovina)
- Grafite (VfL Wolfsburg and Brazil)
- Lionel Messi (FC Barcelona and Argentina)
- Fernando Torres (Liverpool FC and Spain)
- Wayne Rooney (Manchester United FC and England)
- David Villa (Valencia CF and Spain)
- Zlatan Ibrahimović (FC Barcelona and Sweden)
- Diego Forlán (Club Atlético de Madrid and Uruguay)
- Marcus Berg (Hamburger SV and Sweden)

- Josep Guardiola (FC Barcelona)
- Mircea Lucescu (FC Shakhtar Donestsk)
- Sir Alex Ferguson (Manchester United)
- Laurent Blanc (FC Girondins de Bordeaux)
- Horst Hrubesch (Germany Under-21)