Union des Associations Européennes de Football

UEFA Congress elections and decisions

009 – Montenegro admitted as new permanent member

Published: Friday 26 January 2007, 10.47CET

The XXXI Ordinary UEFA Congress held on 25 and 26 January in Düsseldorf, Germany voted for six seats on the Executive Committee for the period 2007-2011 and the following members were (re-)elected:

1st ballot (absolute majority – half valid votes plus one) Votes

Ángel María Villar Llona (Spain) 42
Senes Erzik (Turkey) 37
Mircea Sandu (Romania) 32 (new)
Joseph Mifsud (Malta) 28
Gilberto Parca Madaíl (Portugal) 27 (new)
Grigoriy Surkis (Ukraine) 27 (new)

In addition three European members of the FIFA Executive Committee were (re-)elected for the period 2007-2011:

Michel Platini (France) Automatically elected as UEFA President
Ángel María Villar Llona (Spain) Elected by acclamation

Franz Beckenbauer (Germany) Elected by acclamation

Several amendments to the UEFA Statutes were approved, notably the inclusion of a statutory definition of Fair-Play.

The financial report 2005-06 and the budget 2007-08 were approved.

The UEFA Congress approved the launch of a feasibility study into expanding the current format of the European Championship Final Tournament from 16 to 24 teams.

The Hattrick programme for the period 2008-2012 has been approved and through this scheme, 450 million EURO will be made available to the member associations.

Lennart Johansson has been proclaimed UEFA Honorary President by acclamation of the Congress delegates.

The admission of the Montenegro Football Association as a full member was approved unanimously while the request for admission by the Gibraltar FA was rejected.

For further information

UEFA Media & Public Relations:+41 848 04 27 27

  • Route de Genève 46
  • CH-1260 Nyon 2
  • Tel. +41 848 04 27 27
  • Twitter @UEFA