Last updated 23/01/2020 18:15CET
UEFA Super Cup: Real Madrid CF - Club Atlético de Madrid Match press kits

UEFA Super Cup - 2018 SeasonMatch press kits

Real Madrid CFReal Madrid CFA. Le Coq Arena - TallinnWednesday 15 August 2018
21.00CET (22.00 local time)
Matchday 1 - Final
Club Atlético de MadridClub Atlético de Madrid
Print all chapters
Select a chapter
  • nissan
  • playstation
  • mastercard
  • santander
  • lays
  • gazprom
  • heineken
  • equalgame

Competition facts Only this chapter

UEFA Super Cup: All-time records

• There have been 42 previous UEFA Super Cup finals, including 15 at Monaco's Stade Louis II after the showpiece moved to a one-off match in the principality in 1998. Since 2013, the fixture has been held in a different European city each year: Prague in 2013, Cardiff in 2014, Tbilisi in 2015, Trondheim in 2016 and Skopje in 2017.

• Of the 42 previous editions, the team that won the European Cup have triumphed on 23 occasions, most recently Real Madrid in 2017. Since the UEFA Cup winners began taking part in 2000, following the UEFA Cup Winners' Cup's demise, seven of the 18 finals have been won by the side that lifted the UEFA Cup/UEFA Europa League the preceding May.

• Including 2018, Spain holds the record for the number of times their teams have participated in the competition with 27 entries (Barcelona 9, Real Madrid 7, Sevilla 5, Atlético Madrid 3, Valencia 2, Real Zaragoza 1). England have had 16 (Liverpool 5, Manchester United 4, Chelsea 3, Nottingham Forest 2, Arsenal 1, Aston Villa 1), three more than Italy (AC Milan 7, Juventus 2, Internazionale 1, Parma 1, Lazio 1, Sampdoria 1).

• Spanish clubs have recorded the most victories with 14 (Barcelona 5, Real Madrid 4, Valencia 2, Atlético 2, Sevilla 1), five more than Italy and seven more than England.

• Barcelona's 2015 triumph took them level with Milan on five wins. Real Madrid moved on to four in 2017, one more triumph than Liverpool.

• Six finals have pitted teams from the same country. Milan beat Sampdoria 3-1 on aggregate in 1990 and lost 2-1 to Parma three years later before the all-Spanish affair between Barcelona and Sevilla in 2006 and Real Madrid's 2014 defeat of Sevilla. In 2015, Barcelona beat Sevilla in Tbilisi; Real Madrid beat Sevilla in Trondheim 12 months later.

• Seven finals have been decided in extra time, the beneficiaries being Aston Villa (1982, 3-1 versus Barcelona), Parma (1993, 2-1 versus Milan), Galatasaray (2000, 2-1 golden goal victory versus Real Madrid), Liverpool (2005, 3-1 versus CSKA Moskva),  Barcelona (twice: 2009, 1-0 versus Shakhtar Donetsk; 2015, 5-4 v Sevilla) and Real Madrid (2016, 3-2 v Sevilla).

• The 2013 edition was the first to involve a penalty shoot-out, Bayern beating Chelsea 5-4 on penalties after a 2-2 draw in Prague.

• Barcelona became the first side to score five times in a one-off final with 2015's 5-4 defeat of Sevilla, eclipsing Atlético's 4-1 success over Chelsea in 2012; Liverpool (2001, 2005), Real Madrid (2002, 2016), Sevilla (2006) and Milan (2007) all managed three goals.

• Atlético's 2012 win (4-1) equalled Sevilla's 3-0 defeat of Barcelona in 2006 as the biggest margin of victory in a single-match final.

• There have been four 1-0 results: Chelsea (1998), Lazio (1999) – in the first two one-off finals – Milan (2003) and Barcelona (2009) were the victors.

• There has never been a UEFA Super Cup that finished scoreless after 120 minutes.

• The fastest goal came in the 2015 decider when Éver Banega gave Sevilla a third-minute lead against Barcelona.

• Radamel Falcao (2012, Atlético v Chelsea) and Terry McDermott (1977, Liverpool v Hamburg, second leg) are the only players to have scored three times in one UEFA Super Cup game. McDermott's hat-trick was the quicker, registered in a 17-minute spell either side of the interval.

• The only own goal seen in a UEFA Super Cup final since it permanently became a one-off game in 1998 came from Feyenoord's Patrick Paauwe, 15 minutes into his team's 3-1 reverse to Real Madrid in 2002.

• Manchester United midfielder Paul Scholes became the first player sent off in the history of the competition, against Zenit in 2008. Porto's Rolando and Fredy Guarín were both dismissed in 2011.

Competition history
The UEFA Super Cup was not staged in three seasons since its 1973 inception. In 1974, following political problems, Bayern of the Federal Republic of Germany did not play Magdeburg of the German Democratic Republic. Then, in 1981, Liverpool and Dinamo Tbilisi failed to find a date to contest the competition. Following the Heysel tragedy on 29 May 1985, Juventus and Everton did not play the 1985 UEFA Super Cup.



The statistics provided throughout this document are based on the all-time records of the competing clubs in UEFA club competition.

UEFA club competition: These are the official statistics considered valid for communicating official records in UEFA club competitions defined as the European Champion Clubs' Cup, the UEFA Champions League, the UEFA Cup Winners' Cup, the UEFA Cup, the UEFA Europa League, the UEFA Super Cup (from the 1973 competition), the UEFA Intertoto Cup and the European/South American Cup.

Match officials
Nat. - Nationality
DoB - Date of birth
UEFA: UEFA club competition (including qualifying matches)

2009/10 finals
Ex. - extra time

Team facts
Goals for/against: Goals totals include the outcome of disciplinary decisions (eg. match forfeits when a 3-0 result is determined). Goals totals do not include goals scored from the penalty mark during a penalty shoot-out after a tie ended in a draw.


Competition stages

  • F: Final
  • GS: Group stage
  • GS1: First group stage
  • GS2: Second group stage
  • 3QR: Third qualifying round
  • R1: First round
  • R2: Second round
  • R3: Third round
  • R4: Fourth round
  • PR: Preliminary round
  • SF: Semi-finals
  • QF: Quarter-finals
  • R16: round of 16
  • QR: Qualifying round
  • R32: Round of 32
  • 1QR: First qualifying round
  • 1st: first leg
  • 2QR: Second qualifying round
  • 2nd: second leg
  • FT: Final tournament
  • PO: Play-off
  • ELITE: Elite round
  • Rep: Replay
  • 3rdPO: Third-place play-off
  • PO - FT: Play-off for Final Tournament
  • GS-FT: Group stage – final tournament

Other abbreviations

  • (aet): After extra time
  • pens: Penalties
  • No.: Number
  • og: Own goal
  • ag: Match decided on away goals
  • P: Penalty
  • agg: Aggregate
  • Pld: Matches played
  • AP: Appearances
  • Pos.: Position
  • Comp.: Competition
  • Pts: Points
  • D: Drawn
  • R: Sent off (straight red card)
  • DoB: Date of birth
  • Res.: Result
  • ET: Extra Time
  • sg: Match decided by silver goal
  • GA: Goals against
  • t: Match decided by toss of a coin
  • GF: Goals for
  • W: Won
  • gg: Match decided by golden goal
  • Y: Booked
  • L: Lost
  • Y/R: Sent off (two yellow cards)
  • Nat.: Nationality
  • N/A: Not applicable
  • f: Match forfeited


  • -: Denotes player substituted
  • +: Denotes player introduced
  • *: Denotes player sent off
  • +/-: Denotes player introduced and substituted

Squad list

  • D: Disciplinary
  • *: Misses next match if booked
  • S: Suspended
  • SCUP: Total appearances in the UEFA Super Cup
  • UEFA: All-time total appearances in UEFA club competition including qualifying
  • Disclaimer: Although UEFA has taken all reasonable care that the information contained within this document is accurate at the time of publication, no representation or guarantee (including liability towards third parties), expressed or implied, is made as to its accuracy, reliability or completeness. Therefore, UEFA assumes no liability for the use or interpretation of information contained herein. More information can be found in the competition regulations available on