UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Spanish health good from top to bottom

Spain's soccer history has been increasingly spiced with success, never more so than in recent years, the nation sandwiching 2010 FIFA World Cup victory with two lots of continental glory.

Spanish health good from top to bottom
Spanish health good from top to bottom ©Getty Images

Spain can look back with pride on a distinguished footballing history which has been increasingly spiced with success, never more so than in recent years as the country sandwiched 2010 FIFA World Cup glory with continental pre-eminence at both UEFA EURO 2008 and UEFA EURO 2012. Such has been the recent supremacy of this UEFA founder member that Spanish football is now considered the predominant force in the European and world game.

Spain's first milestone as a soccer nation came with the establishment of the Royal Spanish Football Federation (Real Federación Española de Fútbol or RFEF) in 1909. After the RFEF received the royal seal in 1913, the governing body was admitted to FIFA on 27 July 1914. Although it took another six summers before a full Spanish national team made its debut, losing 1-0 in Denmark in August 1920, the sport had been putting down firm roots in the Iberian territory.

The first indicator of football's arrival was the formation of RC Recreativo de Huelva in 1889. The Copa del Rey – still the premier national cup competition – got started in 1903, soon to be dominated by FC Barcelona, Athletic Club and Real Madrid CF. A decade later there were 25 RFEF-registered clubs. Even so, a national league championship only began in earnest in February 1929, involving ten teams, as efforts to unify the clubs finally bore fruit. Top-flight numbers would peak at 22 in the 1995/96 season, before dropping back to 20.

A slow starter perhaps, yet the RFEF timeline shows peaks long before the recent run of sustained success. The federation has been well represented in all club and national-team competitions. Spain won the 1964 UEFA European Championship, defeating the Soviet Union 2-1 in the final in Madrid with goals from Jesús María Pereda and Marcelino Martínez. The country's footballers also took gold at the 1992 Barcelona Olympics, a feat book-ended by silver medals in Antwerp (1920) and Sydney (2000). The honours list spans numerous titles at junior level: UEFA European Under-21 Championship triumphs in 1986, 1998, 2011 and 2013; the FIFA U-20 World Cup in 1999; European U19 (formerly U18) glory in 1995, 2002, 2004, 2006, 2007, 2011 and 2012 and 2015; and the European U17 (formerly U16) crown in 1986, 1988, 1991, 1997, 1999, 2001, 2007 and 2008.

The same could be said of women's football as the country's sides prevailed at the UEFA European Women's U17 Championship in 2010, 2011 and 2015, plus the women's U19 finals of 2004.

This was the big-achieving background from which Luis Aragonés's class of 2008, and Vicente del Bosque's 2010 and 2012 vintages, emerged. Players such as David Villa, Iker Casillas, Xavi Hernández, Andrés Iniesta and Fernando Torres not only helped La Roja to their unprecedented trophy treble; they also wrote a cluster of new performance records for the Spanish national team.

Spain have been prominent performers on the futsal pitch as well. FIFA Futsal World Cup winners in 2000 and 2004, the national side reigned supreme in the UEFA European Futsal Championships of 1996, 2001, 2005, 2007, 2010, 2012 and 2016. Club teams have done likewise in the UEFA Futsal Cup where Playas de Castellón FS twice, Interviú Madrid on three occasions, and Barcelona have been European champions twice.

The Spanish game's richest legacy, however, may have been in the European Champion Clubs' Cup and UEFA Champions League. At the time of writing, Real Madrid's eleven triumphs in the competition remain unparalleled. Madrid dominated the tournament's first five editions. Barcelona have landed the coveted trophy five times themselves, four in recent years. Madrid, like Sevilla FC and Valencia CF, have also brought the UEFA Cup to Spain. Barcelona, Club Atlético de Madrid, Valencia and Real Zaragoza carried off the European Cup Winners' Cup and Atlético won two of the first three editions of the UEFA Europa League, with Sevilla following suit in 2014, 2015 and 2016.

Such exploits have continued to raise the profile of the Liga clubs and a domestic championship that rates among Europe's finest. From grassroots to the top of the tree, Spanish football has never had it so good.


Luis Rubiales

Luis Rubiales
Luis Rubiales©RFEF

Nationality: Spanish
Date of birth: 23 August 1977
Association president since: 2018

• A law graduate, Luis Rubiales became president of the Spanish Footballers’ Association (AFE) in 2010 - a position he held until formalising his candidacy for the presidency of the RFEF. He has also served as a member of the RFEF board of directors.

• During his playing career, Rubiales represented a variety of clubs at the highest level in Spain. He began playing at Motril CF before stints in the academies of RCD Mallorca, Valencia CF and Atlético de Madrid, and continued his career in Segunda B with Guadix CD. He also played as a defender for UE Lleida and Xerez CD before signing for Levante UD in 2003, where he won the Segunda title, earning promotion to the Liga in the process. He hung up his boots five years later while with Alicante CF.

• Rubiales was elected as president of the RFEF at its general assembly on 17 May 2018.

General secretary

Andreu Camps

Andreu Camps
Andreu Camps©RFEF

Nationality: Spanish
Date of birth: 9 February 1961
Association general secretary since: 2018

• Andreu Camps is a graduate of both law and physical activity and sports science.

• The RFEF’s general secretary, who has been a professor at the INEFC in Catalonia since 2000 and a member of the Badminton World Federation’s Appeal Court, is also a director of masters degrees in sports law and international sports law.

• Until 2017, he was part of Spain’s Court of Arbitration for Sport, and is a member of the academic committee for the UEFA MESGO (Executive Master in Sport Governance) programme at the University of Limoges.