UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

CSKA Moskva beat Rostov to Russian title

A 1-0 win against Rubin Kazan was enough for CSKA Moskva to take the Russian Premier League title and qualify for next season's UEFA Champions League group stage.

CSKA Moskva have won the title for the first time since 2014
CSKA Moskva have won the title for the first time since 2014 ©Getty Images

CSKA Moskva are the new Russian Premier League champions following a 1-0 win against Rubin Kazan on the final day of the campaign.

CSKA headed into the season finale two points clear of Rostov, meaning only victory would assure them of the title. They picked up maximum points against Rubin thanks to Alan Dzagoev's goal midway through the first half, Igor Akinfeev preserving their lead – and indeed the title – with two superb saves late on. Rostov beat Terek 2-0 but finish second.

"This is a great feeling!" said CSKA coach Leonid Slutski, who also won the title in 2013 and 2014. "I'm proud to work at such a club with such players. And it's great to have such fans, they've made us feel at home in Kazan. This victory is for them. When Akinfeev saved us, my heart stopped for five seconds!" CSKA go into the UEFA Champions League group stage next term.

Rostov will enter Europe's premier club competition in qualifying. "I congratulate everyone, I'm so happy," said Rostov coach Kurban Berdyev. "This is a great achievement for our club."

Zenit finish third having concluded with a 3-0 defeat of Dinamo Moskva, who have been relegated to the second tier for the first time in the club's history.