UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Hungary round-up: Zalaegerszeg crowned champions

Zalaegerszegi TE took the NB I title on Wednesday after a 1-1 draw with Ferencvárosi TC.

A 1-1 draw with Ferencvárosi TC today was enough for Zalaegerszegi TE to clinch the NB I title.

Sabo starts the party
Zalaegerszeg had to come from behind in front of a 16,000 crowd at their ZTE stadium to draw level with fierce rivals MTK Hungária. Hungary defender Gábor Gyepes scored from ten metres to give the visitors the lead after 56 minutes, but 15 minutes later Romanian substitute Radu Sabo finished for Zalaegerszeg just a minute after coming on. The supporters in Zalaegerszeg were overjoyed as they celebrated the club's first ever NB I title.

Misery for MTK
Second-placed MTK's misery deepened as they lost 5-1 to Dunaferr SE in Dunaujvaros. Leading marksman Attila Tököli scored twice to bring his season total to 28, scoring his side's second after Henrik Rósa had opened the scoring. Veteran midfield player Ferenc Lengyel scored a beauty to make iyt 3-0 before Péter Czvitkovics pulled one back for MTK. However Tököli's second of the game and a goal for Tamás Csehi completed the rout.

Videoton hit five
Péter Várhidi's Videoton FCF also scored five goals in the day's other game as they overwhelmed Újpesti TE 5-0 at home. Krisztián Tímás struck twice and Újpest's Zsolt Löw scored an own goal before the break. In the second half two strikers, Gábor Földes and Lajos Terjék, found the net.