UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Inter's Milito emerges as Italy's player of 2010

FC Internazionale Milano striker Diego Milito declared himself "very proud" after being named Italy's player of the year and top foreign player at Monday night's Oscar del Calcio awards.

Diego Milito took the top prize at the Oscar del Calcio awards
Diego Milito took the top prize at the Oscar del Calcio awards ©Getty Images

FC Internazionale Milano striker Diego Milito was named player of the year and foreign player of the year at the Italian footballers' association's 2010 Oscar del Calcio awards, while Udinese Calcio forward Antonio Di Natale was voted best Italian player in Serie A.

Milito scored both goals in the 2010 UEFA Champions League final against FC Bayern München to help Internazionale lift the trophy for the first time in 45 years. The Argentinian international, who was preferred to team-mates Wesley Sneijder and Samuel Eto'o as best foreign player, also got the decisive goals as Inter secured the Coppa Italia and the Scudetto last season. "I'm very proud of this award, especially considering the names of the players who won it before me," the 31-year-old said.

Nor was Milito the only Inter player honoured. Júlio César was selected as best goalkeeper, Walter Samuel was best defender alongside Juventus and Italy centre-back Giorgio Chiellini, while José Mourinho, now at Real Madrid CF, took the best coach prize. Maicon, meanwhile, claimed the goal of the year gong for a strike against Juventus in April – when he totted the ball up three times before unleashing an unstoppable drive into the top corner.

The 33-year-old Di Natale, who hit 29 league goals last term and is Serie A's leading marksman this time around with 15, was preferred to Antonio Cassano and Andrea Pirlo as best Italian player. He also collected the top scorer and fair play awards. US Città di Palermo's Javier Pastore was named best young player, SSC Napoli striker Edinson Cavani earned the fans' award, and Emidio Morganti was voted top referee.