UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

UEFA Order of Merit awards

Six prominent personalities received UEFA Orders of Merit for services to football at a ceremony marking the 40th Ordinary UEFA Congress in Budapest.

The UEFA Order of Merit award winners at the ceremony in Budapest
The UEFA Order of Merit award winners at the ceremony in Budapest ©Getty Images

England greats Sir Bobby Charlton and Sir Trevor Brooking are among six European football personalities who have been awarded UEFA's Order of Merit for their services to the game.

The awards were presented by UEFA first vice-president Ángel María Villar Llona at a ceremony in Budapest on Monday, as Europe's national associations and football dignitaries gathered ahead of Tuesday's 40th Ordinary UEFA Congress in the Hungarian capital.

The UEFA Order of Merit is a mark of honour and distinction awarded by UEFA to individuals within the European football family who demonstrate exceptional performance and dedication for the good of the game.

Sir Bobby has been honoured with the UEFA Order of Merit in Diamond, and his award was accepted on his behalf in Budapest by English UEFA Executive Committee member David Gill. Sir Bobby enjoyed a magnificent career as a player with Manchester United, for whom he played 758 games and scored 249 goals over 17 memorable years, helping them to win the European Champion Clubs' Cup in 1968, as well as various English domestic honours. Sir Bobby also won 106 caps for England, scoring 49 goals – a record that stood until 2015 – and was a key member of the side which won the FIFA World Cup on home soil in 1966.

Sir Trevor, who received the UEFA Order of Merit in Ruby, scored 102 goals in 649 matches for West Ham United between 1967 and 1984, and made 47 appearances for his country between 1974 and 1982. He served as director of football development for the English Football Association (FA) from 2005 to 2014.

Four other prominent European football figures were presented with the UEFA Order of Merit in Budapest – Lars-Åke Lagrell (Sweden, Diamond), Károly Palotai (Hungary, Diamond), Zorislav Srebrić (Croatia, Diamond) and Father Hilary Tagliaferro (Malta, Ruby). All of the quartet have made crucial contributions to the game's development in various capacities in their respective countries.

Lagrell served for 21 years as president of the Swedish Football Association (SvFF), while Palotai refereed four UEFA club competition finals from 1975 to 1981, as well as at three FIFA World Cups. Srebrić was an outstanding general secretary and technical director of the Croatian Football Federation (HNS) over two decades, and Father Hilary was a key coaching figure, youth educator and sports journalist in his native Malta.