The official website for European football

Season review: San Marino

Published: Wednesday 15 June 2011, 18.06CET
SP Tre Fiori captured a seventh San Marinese Championship before immediately parting company with their coach, while AC Juvenes-Dogana beat S.S. Virtus in the Coppa Titano final.
by Elia Gorini
from San Marino
Season review: San Marino
Tre Fiori celebrate after Alessandro Giunta's goal against Tre Penne in the 2010/11 league play-off final ©FSGC
Published: Wednesday 15 June 2011, 18.06CET

Season review: San Marino

SP Tre Fiori captured a seventh San Marinese Championship before immediately parting company with their coach, while AC Juvenes-Dogana beat S.S. Virtus in the Coppa Titano final.

SP Tre Fiori won the San Marinese Championship for a third successive season to earn a place in the UEFA Champions League first qualifying round. The Gialloblù dominated the regular season and did not drop their pace in the play-offs. Once again, SP Tre Penne had to settle for second place, while AC Juvenes-Dogana repeated their 2009 feat by lifting the Coppa Titano.

Champions: SP Tre Fiori
Tre Fiori and Tre Penne met in the play-off final for the second consecutive year and once again Floriano Sperindio's charges emerged as winners. A first-half goal by Alessandro Giunta was enough for Tre Fiori to confirm their supremacy in San Marino. The showpiece was perhaps not as entertaining as other recent editions, but once again the victors proved consummate performers, scarcely giving their opponents a sniff once in front.

Cup final: AC Juvenes-Dogana 4-1 S.S. Virtus
Luciano Mularoni's Juvenes-Dogana side were superior throughout and were deservedly 2-0 up at half-time through goals from Francesco Ceci and Riccardo Santini. Coppa Titano leading scorer José Adolfo Hirsch struck at both ends to make it 3-1, before Eugenio Colombini's effort sealed the result once and for all.

European places
SP Tre Fiori – UEFA Champions League first qualifying round
SP Tre Penne – UEFA Europa League first qualifying round
AC Juvenes-Dogana – UEFA Europa League second qualifying round

Player of the year: Enrico Cibelli (SP Tre Penne)
San Marino international Cibelli was a standout performer for the season's duration, but it was in the play-offs that he really excelled with four important goals helping his team to the final.

One to watch: José Adolfo Hirsch (S.S. Virtus)
The Argentina-born player with San Marino citizenship was instrumental in Virtus's run to the Coppa Titano final. The 25-year-old was the leading scorer in all competitions with 24 goals, 12 coming in the cup. Such performances are thought to have caught the eye of San Marino coach Giampaolo Mazza.

Surprise package: S.S. Pennarossa
Mario Ortensi led the Biancorossi to the play-offs in his first term in charge. He did so in style, too, leading them to top spot in their regular-season group, six points clear of nearest rivals SP La Fiorita. Indeed, they only suffered play-off defeats in extra time against eventual champions Tre Fiori and due to a late goal against Tre Penne.

Number: 7
With seven league trophies now to their name, Tre Fiori can comfortably boast to be the most successful club in San Marinese history. This year's triumph was also the second time they completed a hat-trick of titles having previously won three in a row in 1993, 1994 and 1995.

Leading scorer: Alessandro Giunta, Tre Fiori FC (13)

"We end a great period by winning the title. We have won everything since I was in charge and i think the players need new motivations; that's why this was my last game as coach."
Tre Fiori coach Floriano Sperindio announces his decision to leave the club in the immediate aftermath of their victory in the play-off final

Last updated: 21/06/11 16.32CET

Related information

Player profiles
Member associations
Team profiles