Kick out COVID-19 by following the World Health Organization and FIFA's five steps to help stop the disease’s spread.

1. Wash hands 2. Cough into bent elbow 3. Don't touch your face 4. Keep physical distance 5. Stay at home if unwell.
More info >

Season review: Faroe Islands

In a thrilling conclusion to the season HB Tórshavn produced a late run to retain the league title while runners-up EB/Streymur continued their dominance of the Faroese Cup.

Faroe Islands midfielder Fródi Benjaminsen inspired HB to a 21st title
Faroe Islands midfielder Fródi Benjaminsen inspired HB to a 21st title ©Getty Images

HB Tórshavn retained the Faroese title in one of the most exciting league finishes for years, with five different clubs on top during the season. In the end HB pipped EB/Streymur and NSÍ Runavík to secure their 21st championship.

Champions: HB Tórshavn
After a slow start – notably a 4-4 home draw with promoted FC Suduroy in their season opener – HB eventually reached the top of the table after six fixtures. But midway through the campaign they were overtaken by NSÍ who proceeded to establish a seven-point lead. The turning point for the eventual champions was a 4-1 home defeat by Suduroy on 12 September which triggered the dismissal of HB's Icelandic coach Kristján Gudmundsson and appointment of former player Julian Hansen. The new man promptly steered the team to five wins and a draw as HB snatched the title by three points from EB/Streymur.

Cup final: EB/Streymur 1-0 ÍF Fuglafjørdur
EB/Streymur finished second in the league but won their third Faroese Cup (or Løgmanssteypid) in four years with a tense 1-0 defeat of ÍF Fuglafjørdur. The goal was scored by Romanian Sorin Anghel in his 250th game for the club. "It was really enjoyable and important for us to win the cup final, and for me personally it was great to score the winner," he said. "I've scored before in cup finals before but had never scored the winning goal, so this goal means the world to me."

European places*
HB Tórshavn – UEFA Champions League qualifying
NSÍ Runavík – UEFA Europa League qualifying
ÍF Fuglafjørður – UEFA Europa League qualifying
EB/Streymur – UEFA Europa League qualifying

*Exact rounds and entry subject to final confirmation from UEFA

Surprise package: ÍF Fuglafjørdur
With a place in the cup final and a European debut earned for 2011/12, ÍF had their best season since they won the league championship in 1979. ÍF wrested a UEFA Europa League berth from Víkingur on goals scored after beating them 3-1 with a strike in the third minute of added time in the final round of fixtures that claimed fourth position.

Player of the year: Fródi Benjaminsen (HB Tórshavn)
The official choice is yet to be announced but few would protest if Benjaminsen collected the award this term, as he did in 2009 and also 2001, when playing for B68 Toftir. The midfielder, 32, was in inspirational form, barely missing a minute and ending as HB's 13-goal top scorer; five of them coming in the last six matches. Former title-winning coach for B36 and EB/Streymur, Sigfridur Clementsen, said of Benjaminsen: "Fródi is such a good player that I'm tempted to say he can decide the championship on his own. If you took him away from HB and moved him to another top team, I believe he would take the championship with him."

One to watch: Erling Jacobsen (Víkingur)
The 20-year-old defender returned to Víkingur in the summer after several years in Denmark and was magnificent in central defence, filling the gap left by Atli Gregersen, now of Scotland's Ross County FC. Jacobsen's performances caught the eye of national coach Brian Kerr who deployed him at left-back in the 1-1 draw against Northern Ireland earlier this month, a display described as one of the best debuts ever for the Faroe Islands.

Leading scorers: Arnbjørn Hansen (EB/Streymur) and Christian Høgni Jacobsen (NSÍ Runavík) 22
Arnbjørn Hansen was four goals clear of Christian Høgni Jacobsen going into the final round of games but while the EB/Streymur man scored once in the 3-1 defeat of B68 Toftir, Jacobsen struck five in NSÍ's 9-1 victory against B71 Sandoy. Both have previously won the golden boot: Hansen in EB/Streymur's title year of 2008 and Jacobsen in 2005 and 2006.

Relegated: AB Argir and FC Suduroy

Promoted: 07 Vestur and KÍ Klaksvík

Number: 9
Four matches into the campaign NSÍ were bottom with just one point, yet they then went on a nine-game winning spree to put themselves in championship contention before finishing third.

Quote: "B36 played like we would like to play, because they moved very well."
HB coach Julian Hansen after beating B36 Tórshavn to take the title.