The official website for European football

Europe's longest domestic winning streaks

Published: Thursday 7 April 2016, 10.38CET
Crvena zvezda won 24 league games in a row in Serbia this season, falling five short of the European record; celebrates the most daunting league opponents ever.
Europe's longest domestic winning streaks
Miodrag Božović oversaw Crvena zvezda's 24-game winning run this season ©AFP/Getty Images features

Equal Game Conference on anti-discrimination fight
  • Equal Game Conference on anti-discrimination fight
  • Kosovo: emerging from the shadows
  • Your Move: a mascot with a difference for UEFA EURO 2020
  • Rome Congress and 2020 hosts - UEFA Direct 183 out now
  • Hampden will roar
  • Nike on the ball with exclusive UEFA Women's Football deal
  • UEFA’s 2017/18 Annual Report – now online
  • 'Make your dream a reality ...'
  • Investigatory Chamber opens investigation into Manchester City
  • The UEFA Academy – UEFA's commitment to learning
1 of 10
Published: Thursday 7 April 2016, 10.38CET

Europe's longest domestic winning streaks

Crvena zvezda won 24 league games in a row in Serbia this season, falling five short of the European record; celebrates the most daunting league opponents ever.

29 games – Benfica (Portugal) 197173
Benfica's European record winning sequence started at the end of one title-winning season and continued well into the next, with the Eagles lifting the 1972/73 crown without losing – a first in Portugal. English coach Jimmy Hagan played his part, as Eusébio recalled: "He liked discipline. The players thought his training sessions were really hard, but the team soon began to win matches and we knew it was worth it. He gave us extra strength and that was the reason we won three straight championships."

28 – Dinamo Zagreb (Croatia) 200607
Eduardo, Luka Modrić and Vedran Ćorluka were key contributors to Dinamo's dazzling run in Croatia, heralded by a 5-1 triumph over Istra in November 2006 and halted by a 4-3 defeat at Varteks (now Varaždin) in September 2007. On the eve of the latter fixture, coach Branko Ivanković said: "We have a great side. We are going to win our 29th game in a row and equal Benfica's record so that this Dinamo generation get a place in world football history." So close, but ultimately so far.

Your favourite Celtic moments

25 – Celtic (Scotland) 200304
Celtic attained a new British milestone of 25 consecutive league victories between August 2003 and February 2004, scoring 86 goals in the process, as Martin O'Neill's men completed a Scottish domestic double in Henrik Larsson's final campaign in Glasgow. "We would go on these runs and look to every game as one we could win," former defender Johan Mjällby remembered. "Once a team starts winning it's hard to stop them."

25 – Dinamo Tirana (Albania) 1951–52
Dinamo's hot streak came in the midst of their four successive championship triumphs from 1950, the year of their formation, to 1953. It started against Puna on 18 April 1951, week 17 of the season, and finished on 1 June the following year when they drew 0-0 with the same opponents. With 18 league titles, Dinamo remain Albania's second most successful club but they have been in the second tier since relegation in 2011/12.

24 – Crvena zvezda (Serbia) 2015-16
In between a 1-1 draw at home against Radnički Niš on 21 July 2015 and a 0-0 at Vojvodina on 2 April 2016, Miodrag Božović’s ‘Red Star’ destroyed all comers, their 24-game winning run including home and away wins against Belgrade rivals Partizan. "Every adventure like this is great and we enjoyed it while it lasted," shrugged Božović. "Our run was stopped, but that always happens."

23 – Malmö (Sweden) 1949–50
After sealing the 1948/49 Swedish crown with five straight victories at the end of the season, Malmö picked up the pace the following campaign with a 2-0 opening-round success at Elfsborg on 31 July 1949. They would not drop a point until being held 3-3 at AIK on 14 May 1950.

©Getty Images

22 – PSV Eindhoven (Netherlands) 198788
Having revved up with wins in their last five outings of 1986/87, PSV proved unstoppable in the next term despite losing Ruud Gullit that summer. Hans van Breukelen, Ronald Koeman, Eric Gerets, Berry van Aerle, Jan Heintze, Ivan Nielsen, Søren Lerby, Gerald Vanenburg, Wim Kieft and veteran Willy van de Kerkhof shone under debutant coach Guus Hiddink. A 2-2 draw with Twente on 16 January 1988 curtailed the run, yet PSV comfortably claimed a domestic double and landed the European Cup for good measure.

22 – Käpäz (Azerbaijan) 1997–98
Mehman Allahverdiyev's side of 1997/98 remain the only team to win the league undefeated, and for ten months until 23 September 1998 opponents could not even take a point off them. It should be noted, though, that two of the 22 matches were technical victories awarded to Käpäz.

19 – Bayern München (Germany) 2013–14
18 – FH (Iceland) 200405
17 – Olympiacos (Greece) 200506, 201516
17 – Steaua Bucureşti (Romania) 1988
17 – Dinamo Bucureşti (Romania) 1988
17 – Internazionale Milano (Italy) 200607
16 – Valur Reykjavík (Iceland) 1978
16 – Barcelona (Spain) 201011
16 – APOEL (Cyprus) 2008-09
15 – Benfica (Portugal) 1963
15 – Real Madrid (Spain) 196061
15 – Sparta Praha (Czech Republic) 19992000
15 – Bangor City (Wales) 2010

Last updated: 21/09/16 13.03CET

Related information

Team profiles