UEFA.com works better on other browsers
For the best possible experience, we recommend using Chrome, Firefox or Microsoft Edge.

Lyon dominate France squad

Olympique Lyonnais make up more than half of France's 23-strong squad for UEFA Women's EURO 2013 while captain Sandrine Soubeyrand will go to her fifth European final tournament.

Sandrine Soubeyrand is set for her fifth UEFA Women's EURO
Sandrine Soubeyrand is set for her fifth UEFA Women's EURO ©AFP

France coach Bruno Bini has become the first to name his UEFA Women's EURO 2013 squad including 12 players from champions Olympique Lyonnais.

Among the contingent from Lyon, who lost their grip on the UEFA Women's Champions League title last week against VfL Wolfsburg in London, is midfielder Amandine Henry, who recently ended a three-year absence from the squad, though club-mate Sonia Bompastor is not selected. Adding to the 18 players already picked to play Finland in a home friendly on Saturday are Karima Benameur, Julie Soyer, Camille Catala, Sandrine Brétigny and Laetitia Tonazzi, while captain and France's most-capped international Sandrine Soubeyrand, who turns 40 in August, is set for her fifth consecutive European final tournament.

"We know we have a team to go to the wire," said Bini. "Now we are lacking small things to fight for the title. Hopefully we're at that next step, towards even better things. The girls really want to end up European champions. They are coiled like springs."

Among the favourites for the finals in Sweden, having finished fourth at the 2011 FIFA Women's World Cup and 2012 Olympics, France begin their campaign in Norrkoping on 12 July against Russia before facing Spain and England. They have further friendlies against Norway on 29 June and Australia a week later.

France squad
Goalkeepers: Sarah Bouhaddi (Olympique Lyonnais), Karima Benameur (Paris Saint-Germain FC), Céline Deville (Olympique Lyonnais).

Defenders: Laure Boulleau (Paris Saint-Germain FC), Sabrina Delannoy (Paris Saint-Germain FC), Corine Franco (Olympique Lyonnais), Laura Georges (Olympique Lyonnais), Jessica Houara (Paris Saint-Germain FC), Ophélie Meilleroux (Montpellier Hérault SC), Wendie Renard (Olympique Lyonnais), Julie Soyer (FCF Juvisy Essonne).

Midfielders: Louisa Necib (Olympique Lyonnais), Sandrine Soubeyrand (FCF Juvisy Essonne), Camille Abily (Olympique Lyonnais), Camille Catala (FCF Juvisy Essonne), Élise Bussaglia (Olympique Lyonnais), Amandine Henry (Olympique Lyonnais), Gaëtane Thiney (FCF Juvisy Essonne).

Forwards: Sandrine Brétigny (1. FFC Frankfurt), Marie-Laure Delie (Montpellier Hérault SC), Eugénie Le Sommer (Olympique Lyonnais), Élodie Thomis (Olympique Lyonnais), Laetitia Tonazzi (Olympique Lyonnais).